Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Fast/Cgi was changed on all accounts

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by ultralion, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    i was looking on the web if there was a way to set only some account with fast/cgi instead of suphp.
    I've seen on simple cpanel hosting there was option to set Apache Handler in advanced configuration.
    So i did a try and i added:
    Handler: fcgid-script
    extension: .php

    It worked and phpinfo correctly show me that hosting is running on fast/cgi.
    Problem is that all others website now have that handler!!
    So i went to see inside Easy Apache and still show me that i'm on Suphp.
    How is possible? I should fix this or not? I don't want to do some misconfiguration.
    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note: On that hosting the custom Apache Handler is not present anymore. I suppose that the option must appear under the tab so i could remove... but it isn't. Seems that i changed whole accounts from one :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    There are no native options that will allow you to configure the PHP handler on a per-account basis. It's only configurable globally. Feel free to open a feature request for this at:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes i understood that, but how is possible that changing in Apache advanced configuration (Cpanel User/account side) default handler changed from suphp to fast-cgi on all websites?
    Also i still see in admin control panel that default handler is suphp
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's only changed through Web Host Manager via:

    "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Configure PHP and suEXEC"

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I still can't understand. I know that in "WHM Home » Service Configuration » Configure PHP and suEXEC" is possible to change handler.
    I don't realize why on Cpanel account (not WHM but simply user interface) in:
    Advanced Configuration---> Apache Handler i added:
    Handler: fcgid-script
    extension: .php
    And Server Api details has changed from suphp to Cgi-Fastgi on that hosting account and all the others.
    I didn't touch my settings in WHM

    This is a php info from other hosting
    fastcgi.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 ultralion, Sep 19, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I have not been able to reproduce that issue. If you are able to reproduce it, please open a bug report via:

    Submit A Bug Report

    You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of course i'll do it. Anyway i feel confused now.
    You wrote:
    There are no native options that will allow you to configure the PHP handler on a per-account basis
    But so why an user should have this panel on his interface? :confused:
    handler.png

    I did it from here
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Apache handlers are not the same thing as PHP handlers. Apache handlers control how your site’s Apache web server software manages certain file types and file extensions. PHP handlers deliver the PHP programming libraries. You can review the documentation for each at:

    Apache Handlers
    PHP Handlers

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok i see... in fact i tried to give a 777 permission to an account public_html and it crashed :D
    I know that php fast-cgi this could not happen... so i suppose i'm running suphp ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That is correct. It's not possible to modify the PHP handler from the cPanel interface.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. ultralion

    ultralion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Viareggio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes i'm a stupid man sorry :(
    For some strange cause my brain was thinking "server api= php handler" and i was thinking it showed "suphp" but no way... also when a server is on SUPHP ever show CGI/FastGgi Server Api. In fact i'm running correctly on suphp
    I apologize... i'm newbie
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice