The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fastcgi and mmcache install help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Veiko, Sep 27, 2004.

  1. Veiko

    Veiko Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I planed to install fastcgi and mmcache to my apache server so it won't suck up the cpu usage so much on my cpanel server. If someone have succesfully installed fastcgi or mmcache, please share your experience. Please provide in edit and recompile apache steps.
    I got Zend installed with php.

    Thanks
     
  2. PaulTech

    PaulTech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    wget http://66.195.127.171/mmcache.tar
    tar -xvf mmcache.tar
    chmod +x mmcacheinstall
    ./mmcacheinstall


    Should work fine as far as im aware, I'll get working on fastcgi in a bit
     
    #2 PaulTech, Sep 28, 2004
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2004
  3. laborspy

    laborspy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think you need to disable Zend Cache for the mmcache to work. Most just completely disable Zend.

    -Jason
     
  4. PaulTech

    PaulTech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Umm, Mmcache works as a Zend Extension ?
     
  5. laborspy

    laborspy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    you are correct, you use the "zend_extension =" in the php.ini file.

    My comment was if you wanted to run both mmcache with the Zend Optimizer you need to disabled Zend's cache functions.

    -jason
     
  6. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think if you check on the mmcache forums at sourceforge, they can get along together, but the order they load in php.ini is important. I don't remember for sure.
     
  7. Veiko

    Veiko Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for the prompt reply, I think I will stay away from mmcache. How about fastcgi? I got some clients load cgi for forums, it really consumes a lot of cpu resources. Anyone successfully installed Fastcgi along with Cpanel?
     
  8. ispro

    ispro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sorry for re-opening old thread...
    Well, first of all - take a look to eAccelerator (http://eaccelerator.com) - it is a continuation of MMCache and works great!

    For a second - today I give a try to FastCGI - yes, it works already with eAccelerator and load goes down noticeable.

    When I will be done completely I will post there configs.

    At this point there are two problems:

    1) Each account should have single file with shell parser inside its cgi-bin ...;
    2) This file accessible via web - and while no harms should be done - it is not good anyway...

    If anyone has good FastCGI installation already, share there your opinions!
     
  9. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I'm interested in FastCGI as well. Anyone know the install instructions for Apache v1.3.3x on PHP 4.3.10?

    Thank you.
     
  10. ispro

    ispro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello!

    We have been with FastCGI for PHP since my last post on 02/11/2005.

    Well, the results are very confusing. Nor with default setting nor with adjusted ones we got no speed increase. Even more - you should to choose if you will have hundreds FastCGI processes eating your memory and CPU or you will end up with sites no open error (as you have limited number of FastCGI instances). Even with first scenario no speed increase.

    We have various settings on two different servers. Actually everyone having issues - we was insisted to set-up additional cronjob to check if pages are really open - it gracefully restarted Apache from 10 to 20 times per day.

    Folks at FastCGI said that there are still memory leaks in PHP realization of FastCGI interface (yes, you need to recompile php as well!), so we have back to phpsuexec and more than happy...

    This is not a story I would like to post, but if anyone there got a good luck in setting FastCGI - post your settings and how you set-up all the components.

    At this moment we just gave up, sorry.
     
  11. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Does anyone know the full steps to install fast cgi?
     
  12. Roy@ENHOST

    Roy@ENHOST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles California
Loading...

Share This Page