The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fatal error or timeout .... please help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by operaphantom, Oct 22, 2010.

1. operaphantom

operaphantom Registered

Oct 22, 2010
    Hi guys, I REALLY need some help urgently!

this is my very first time using Cpanel/Whm on my friends' server; he's loaning it to me. I've run into some problems so for example, after a client creates a new account and they are directed to the Cpanel they all get the same error message that says:

"A fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive"

This is a forum for / and although it is not crucial to have it up and running as of right now I really need to get this sorted out without having to hire external help because it is a free site.
  2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

Oct 2, 2010
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When receiving that error message, please click on it and provide the full error. Otherwise, please tail the cPanel error log during the account creation and provide the error found there:

tail -f /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
  3. egillette

egillette Well-Known Member

Jan 5, 2010
    Orlando, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

I was also receiving this error after a client had created an account (he has root privileges and can login to wHM to create accounts), and he just recently hired me to become his server administrator.

Well, he has a programmer who unable to access

After logging in as the root user (not sure why he provided the root user/pass to the programmer to access cPanel), cPanel gave him an error message about "unable to get UID for root" or something to that effect.