The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

favicon.ico do not work?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by oderland, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. oderland

    oderland Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kungsbacka, Sweden
    Hi there folks :)

    Some of our customers want's to use favicons, they have allready made an icon that is showing allright with another host but it's not working on our servers.

    favicon.ico is in theirs www root

    Any clue?

    /Jack

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I found that in IE, a newly uploaded icon doesn't always show right away. I found out an easy way to get it to show. Click on the default icon in the address bar and drag and drop it back into the address bar 2 or 3 times and voila, the real one finally shows up.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It shows up fine in N7 but didn't in IE so I checked the image. IE doesn't show it because it's not an icon image. It's only a gif image renamed which isn't the same thing. Icon images are different from gif images.

    Try using Irfanview to convert it to ico.

    For now, get your icon as an icon image here.

    I converted it for you.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Seems to be working now. ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Joshfrom

    Joshfrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    White Haven, PA, US
    I've been adding out cP logo all over in the last week so I'm fairly well-versed in this right now. :)

    In addition to making sure the icon is in your webroot directory, you should also add the following line to your HTML head:

    Also Windows can be touchy about when it adds it -- just because you don't see it doesn't mean it isnt there. (Try adding the URL to your favorites list, the icon should load thenceforth) I'm running galeon on linux and the images load immediately.
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I noticed a while back that with IE adding it to favorites usually showed the icon, then recently heard about the drag and drop idea in a newsgroup.

    Adding that line is a good idea.
     
  8. Habikki

    Habikki Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been having problems with this as well. Just a little perk of mine that I can't get set right. I've added the rel link as listed above and put the full url to the ico. Made sure that it was an ico (even jackec one off a site that I saw had one working just to be on the safe side) and it still won't display.

    I've tried IE and FireFox and no dice.

    What I think is funny is that when I link the .ico that is on my site it won't display, though when I link to the same .ico that I took originally, it would display.

    Now this should be browser dependant, not server dependant or so I thought. THough I'm completley dumbfounded on why it will not show if I link it to the .ico on my server as opposed to the remote file. Any Ideas?

    Cheers,
    Robby

    P.S; if you want to check it out see http://xeno.cx/index.php...

    The remote file that I took it from was from http://www.radicalbender.com/blog/bio_avatars.php (http://www.radicalbender.com/blog/favicon.ico)
     
  9. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Works fine for me. I see your icon in N7.
     
  10. Habikki

    Habikki Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, I don't understand it much but the next day, it's showing on Firefox and IE. I'm not going to pretend to understand it but it works!!

    THanks for taking the time to look at it Squirrel!!

    Cheers,
    Robby
     
  11. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    IE doesn't always show it right away without reloading it. Firefox is probably the same.
     
Loading...

Share This Page