Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

FD_SETSIZE & easyapache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by dhabets, May 14, 2003.

  1. dhabets

    dhabets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hey,

    I'm trying to recompile apache with /scripts/easyapache, but it ends up at this point where it just doesn't do anything:

    Configuring for Apache, Version 1.3.27
    + using installation path layout: Apache (co
    nfig.layout)

    Creating Makefile
    Creating Configuration.apaci in src
    + enabling mod_so for DSO support <---- stop there, just sits there for hours...


    Any ideas what I"m doing wrong? And does raising the FD_SETSIZE limit actually work?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. justin

    justin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    Don't use cpanel's set FD_SETSIZE. Not sure what it changes.

    Open up /usr/include/bits/types.h

    Code:
    Change :
    
    #define __FD_SETSIZE    whatever is here
    
    
    To :
    
    #define __FD_SETSIZE    16384
    
    
    
    Then run easyapache or manually rebuild apache and php.
     
  3. dhabets

    dhabets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    306
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That was already set correctly. The problem has been resolved though. It was a custom script in the background that was messing things up.
     
  4. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Done it works fine

    Hi!

    Last few weeks I have had a few apache isnstalls screwed up and it looks like if this FD_SETSIZE is solving it. It's funny stuff but the http ckeckserv does not work also beacuse you can try a graceful reebot of apache, but it will not change anything. a stop and a start will. Anyway ..

    Compiling new with larger FD_SETSIZE with the easyapache does fix the problem.

    Anyone know what this FD_SETSIZE realy is?
     
  5. blackisha

    blackisha Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    FD_SETSIZE is the number of allowed open files at one time....

    by a single process.

    hope that helps

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. c4host

    c4host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    DEFINE FD SETSIZE IS NOT IN THE TYPE H FILE????

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. c4host

    c4host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I found it is typsizes.h

    It is set to 16384 but I still get the error that the files size is set too 1024 please raise limit. Is it somewhere else also??

    #ifndef _BITS_TYPES_H
    # error "Never include <bits/typesizes.h> directly; use <sys/types.h> instead."
    #endif

    #ifndef _BITS_TYPESIZES_H
    #define _BITS_TYPESIZES_H 1

    /* See <bits/types.h> for the meaning of these macros. This file exists so
    that <bits/types.h> need not vary across different GNU platforms. */

    #define __DEV_T_TYPE __UQUAD_TYPE
    #define __UID_T_TYPE __U32_TYPE
    #define __GID_T_TYPE __U32_TYPE
    #define __INO_T_TYPE __ULONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __INO64_T_TYPE __UQUAD_TYPE
    #define __MODE_T_TYPE __U32_TYPE
    #define __NLINK_T_TYPE __UWORD_TYPE
    #define __OFF_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __OFF64_T_TYPE __SQUAD_TYPE
    #define __PID_T_TYPE __S32_TYPE
    #define __RLIM_T_TYPE __ULONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __RLIM64_T_TYPE __UQUAD_TYPE
    #define __BLKCNT_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __BLKCNT64_T_TYPE __SQUAD_TYPE
    #define __FSBLKCNT_T_TYPE __ULONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __FSBLKCNT64_T_TYPE __UQUAD_TYPE
    #define __FSFILCNT_T_TYPE __ULONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __FSFILCNT64_T_TYPE __UQUAD_TYPE
    #define __ID_T_TYPE __U32_TYPE
    #define __CLOCK_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __TIME_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __USECONDS_T_TYPE __U32_TYPE
    #define __SUSECONDS_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __DADDR_T_TYPE __S32_TYPE
    #define __SWBLK_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __KEY_T_TYPE __S32_TYPE
    #define __CLOCKID_T_TYPE __S32_TYPE
    #define __TIMER_T_TYPE __S32_TYPE
    #define __BLKSIZE_T_TYPE __SLONGWORD_TYPE
    #define __FSID_T_TYPE struct { int __val[2]; }

    /* Number of descriptors that can fit in an `fd_set'. */
    #define __FD_SETSIZE 16384
     
  8. Starhawk-cyberpixels

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    We have found it useful to "chattr +i" the types.h file making it unchangeable, otherwise it seems to revert after a few weeks and we get an FD_SETSIZE problem again.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. bjarne

    bjarne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    All I can say is since we put in a cron job who stops and starts apache every morning,

    Non of these servers with cron job have crached or hung up or whatever. It has been as a kiss from heaven for me, I can actualy have some peace. Before this I always had a crach and some problem.

    Take a tip - find my posting with full explonation about it:)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice