The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feature reqeust: Remeber buildapache values

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by X-Istencedotcom, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am wondering if there is some hack currently to remember the values we filled in for the buildapache process.

    The server owner had to rebuild PHP for a client, and left out a crucial option, which i am currently compiling back in.

    Is there not some way to keep what we entered before, so that way when someone needs to add something it gets added, and the rest is allready there.

    X-Istence
     
  2. cyberspirit

    cyberspirit BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I second this request, it would not only be nice to have for convenience but also to later check what someone else did in terms of compiling. The list of php features will only grow and it makes it easier in a technical department to preserve settings. It would look and work pretty much like the Exim Conf Editor in WHM.
     
  3. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Would be nice!
     
  4. kalnet4u

    kalnet4u Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    This would be a great feature to have.

    At the moment we print out the page before compiling so we can use it as a reference in the future.

    However this would make our life much easier!
     
  5. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I didnt expect this much backing for a feature.

    I am happy others like it as well.
     
  6. Rooter

    Rooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This would certainly be convenient so you don't have to remember what was done on the previous rebuild. I too would love to have this feature.
     
  7. GrimReaper

    GrimReaper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Would be great. :D
     
  8. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Would be excellent to have once we have a working easyapache again.
     
  9. tundra96

    tundra96 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, please add this
     
  10. TheSpidre

    TheSpidre Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have to agree with you guys ;)
     
  11. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I always wondered why we didn't have this. It just seems to make sense.

    Even if it just had a little (installed) next to it, like in the RPM drop down.
     
  12. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    this option will really help a lot.
     
  13. JoshPet

    JoshPet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  14. richy

    richy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    <AOL> Me Too! </AOL>

    It'd be nice if we could set the buildapache settings via WHM which then stores them in a plain text file (which we could then copy from server to server to keep all in sync). /scripts/buildapache then uses that file to build from (as rebuilding Apache from WHM is problematic: shell rebuild, no probs!)
     
  15. red_baran

    red_baran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Would be one of the most useful updates I've seen.
     
  16. manlius.com

    manlius.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Would also love to see this feature
     
  17. HollyRidge

    HollyRidge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garner NC USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I totally agree and would love to see this added.
     
  18. LordJMann

    LordJMann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I as well would love to have this, as I always have to remember what I had installed when I do recompiles or updates.
     
  19. stugster

    stugster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yeh, this would be much better! In fact, the same for all upgrades. I upgraded PHP-4.3.4 a few days ago, but now when my resellers add new accounts, the setting for open_basedir is no longer added... also, it forgot the fact I had PHP compiled with gif and jpg image support.. grr!


    Add it :D
     
  20. ServIntJim

    ServIntJim Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mclean VA
    I agree, this would be a wonderful feature to have. Especially when supporting many cPanel servers with different build configurations.
     
Loading...

Share This Page