The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Features selected in feature manager but icons not showing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by studioq, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. studioq

    studioq Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is a new install - a trial version converted to a regular license. There are several features - all of them in fact - that are selected in the feature manager yet several of them are missing from the client side view of cPanel.

    Maybe a total noob question - but what gives???
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you verified the package assigned to the account is associated with the default feature list? Do you have a screenshot of what's visible in cPanel?

    Thank you.
     
  3. studioq

    studioq Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think what's going on is that I'm expecting to see more icons in the x3 template and it's just the basic, generic version. I was under the impression that all of the items in the default feature list would be installed when cPanel was installed. Is that not correct?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Compared to a known-good test server, your screenshot looks normal for X3. Some features depend on other things, for example specific modules being built into Apache, and are not displayed until those requirements are met. What features, in particular, are you expecting to see that are not listed?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The docs should be helpful to you:
    Feature Manager - cPanel Documentation

    Specifically, and worth checking:
     
  6. studioq

    studioq Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you - checked those. Everything is as it was upon the fresh install.

    So - certain RPMs and or Modules would have to be installed in order for icons to show, yes? If the RPMs - such as Ruby are not installed - there will be no icons - if that is correct. I guess my mistake was assuming they would be installed by default. In the documentation I don't readily see anything about installing additional features.
     
  7. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Certain things like Ruby on Rails and PostgreSQL are not installed by default on a new cPanel installation, so their icons are not displayed. To install those items you can run these commands from the shell:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/installruby
    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/installpostgres
    Also, the Optimize Website icon is not displayed until you add mod_deflate in EasyApache.

    If you have any other specific examples of icons that are missing, I would be happy to explain how to install the components that are necessary for them.
     
  8. studioq

    studioq Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you - that's what I'm after - is the information about what is available to be installed and how to install it versus what I have to go out and grab. Is there a resource where I could have found those two commands on my own? That's the part I'm missing here..
     
  9. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page