Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Feedback on WHM60.x

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by PCZero, Nov 2, 2016.

Tags:
  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I have to day first off that I am impressed. I VERY much like the icon based interface over the big rectangles that 58.x had. I do wish the text was below each icon rather than to the right of them. It would make the UI flow a LOT easier.

    As I click through the icons to get to a specific tasks, the text menu on the left expands to the appropriate link as well. This is not new and is good. However when I click the the HOME or the WHM link to go to the top level of the icons, the menus do not collapse which they should do logically. This is minor but it is rather annoying as well.

    In HOME - CPANEL- CUSTOMIZATION - CUSTOMIZE STYLE it would be REALLY nice to have a 'disable' option for each style. The intended functionality would be to allow users to switch styles but limit them to the non-disabled styles. That way if I have several custom styles and want the users just to be able to select them, i can do that. As it is now, it is a all or nothing model.

    That's it for now. Although after navigating around the UI for a while, the idea of having the text BELOW the icons rather than to the right is much more important. The whole thing would be SO much easier to use if that mod were to be made.

    Overall a pretty good job by the development team.
     
    cPanelMichael and Infopro like this.
  2. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I do have a question about the WHM -> Market functionality. It appears that this should allow me to sell cPenal and Comodo RV SSL certs to my clients directly within the cPanel environment. I have enabled both items in Market Provider Manager, surfed to the redeemcommissions URL and set up my account, and enabled the cPanel Store in the default (my only) feature list. However when I log into any of my clients cPanel, I see nothign about the store. Am I missing something?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    One of the things I really like about 60 is the little help icons at top of page on the breadcrumb menu in WebHost Manager. Doesn't directly answer your question of course but I wanted to mention it all the same. :)

    Making sure that you've got: cPanel Market, enabled in Feature manager for your Package, you should see an area in your cPanel called: SSL TLS Wizard. The docs for this are located here:
    SSL TLS Wizard - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    HTH!
     
  4. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    You mean in the feature manger? I do have it enabled there but I do not see a place to address this in the packages other than indirectly by selecting a specific feature list. I have only the default and cPanel Market is enabled there, yet I do not see the SSL TLS Wizard section in cPanel.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Whatever account you're looking at to find the SSL TLS Wizard, it's Package must have a Feature List, and on it's Feature List the option for cPanel Market, enabled. I've confirmed on this end that enabling or disabling this on one of my Packages, hides/unhides the SSL TLS Wizard in cPanel as expected.
     
  6. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I'll look at it again but I do believe that this is the setup I have. All clients are using the same Package and the default feature list which has that item enabled.
     
  7. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    OK I did check everything to ensure that the PL-Package does have the Default feature list and the default feature list has the cPanel Market checked. However when I log into cPanel there is no option for SSL TLS Wizard anywhere to be found. Where should it be displayed and do other options in feature manager have to be enabled in order for this to function correctly?
     
  8. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    HEY! I got it. Not sure what was going on but when I uncheckd the cPanel Store box, saved, then went abck in and check it again, the Wizard does now show up in cPanel.

    HOWEVER when I click that link I get the following...


    SSL/TLS Wizard
    You can use this interface to purchase and install SSL certificates for your account. For more information on this interface, read the documentation.
    This feature is not available to your account.


    I am sure I am being stupid in this matter. Please point me in the right direction.
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  10. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I saw a comment on one of those links that there might be an issue with the site because it uses a shared IP. All of my clients use a common IP would this be the cause of the condition that I am describing?
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What version of CentOS are you running?
     
  12. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Same here. Checking my accounts on a shared IP and I'm not seeing that error message.
     
  14. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Yeah I just tested on my lone unique IP account and still have the message. I'll investigate more later today. FYI this is not a high priority issue in my case. I currently do not have a need for it, just investigating for future use.
     
    Infopro likes this.
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you enabled AutoSSL for the account?
     
  16. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    I believe so. However I am off to take my dad (who is 89) to a Beers and Banjos show here in town. I'll be back to this later. :)
     
    Infopro likes this.
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's Friday, go have fun! :)
     
  18. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks. Dad and I had a great time. Between sets he git to talking with one of the band member and they dedicated a song to him as a WWI veteran about to celebrate his 90th birthday. When the song was over, a 3-4year little girl who was there with her mom and dad walked up to my dad where he was sitting, gave him a big hug, and told him thank you/happy birthday! Good evening to say the least!

    I am really busy trying to get a new web site on line before I go away on a cruise vacation Wednesday. I am going to put this on hold until I get back. So no progress until some time after the 21st!

    Push those feature requests for me! :)

    Talk to you when I get back from New Orleans and the Caribbean!
     
    Infopro likes this.
  19. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Earth
    Hey Info can you look at Allow Server Owners / Resellers to disbale individual styles for me please. This appears to be a duplicate of an old request of mine but it really is a different approach. Here is what I am asking for.

    1) I go to WHM -> PACKAGES -> FEATURE MANAGER -> FEATURE LISTS and enable Change Style (I use only one list).
    2) I go to WHM->CPANEL->CUSTOMIZATION->CUSTOMIZE STYLE and have an "enabled" check box for each style. (this is the new part).
    3) Then when the client goes into CPANEL -> CHANGE STYLE only the styles that are "enabled" should be displayed for the client to choose from. It (might) be just a matter of this ares of cPanel looking at the "enabled" flag as it populates and displays the list of styles and if a given style is not enabled then do not display it.

    This would be a VERY nice feature so that I can have my custom styles be branded exactly how I want them and not have canned styles available.

    Right now the request is still in moderation. I really think that I cannot be the only person who would want this option!

    Thanks
     
  20. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,747
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for sharing that story about your Dad, really nice. :)


    cPanel has a Community manager that runs the Feature Requests site like a well oiled machine, @cPanelBenny, I don't moderate Feature Requests over there any longer. She'll get to it first of the week one way or the other I'm sure.

    I've just read it though, and it does read like a duplicate to other Feature Request(s) and forum threads you've made in the past.
    Paper Lantern - Allow Disabling of the Stock Paper lantern Styles
    Add More Control to Paper Lantern and Custom Styles

    As I understand it, you want to use only your style(s) and not have a default style available. As you may recall we've had some back and forth on this and as it stands, that's just not possible. As I understand it. @cPanelAdamF mentions this in one of those Feature Requests comments, and I seem to recall him mentioning it to you on the forums here in a thread or two as well. ;)

    I don't think you're alone, but the votes on the Feature Requests site is how things get done and your other Feature Requests are well over a year old and not gaining any traction. I've voted for both myself. That makes 4 votes on one, 3 on the other.

    I suspect your new Feature Request that's in moderation will be turned down, to be honest, due to the others similar already approved.

    In the meantime... New Orleans? I love that town! If you have time be sure to visit this place for food:
    oceanagrill.com

    You can thank me for that later. Have a safe trip!

    We've really gone off topic here, sorry. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page