The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

File dumps when account exceeds limit

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by earthrat, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just wanted to voice my opposition to a problem I just experienced. I had a site that had exceeded its space allotment and during a file download using ftp a critical system file was emptied. It took some testing to finally figure out the account had exceeded its limit. However I find it totally unacceptable that because it reached the limit that cPanel would start taking files and erasing the content just to keep the account within its limits. This behavior needs to be changed!!!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sounds like you attempted to backup/compress, and download files from the account. Is that correct? In order to compress, there needs to be space available.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    cPanel will not remove files from an account, but instead simply prevents new file creations when an account is at it's disk space limit. Could you elaborate on the specific action you took that lead to the deletion of a file?

    Thank you.
     
  4. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    All I did was FTP into the account and downloaded the error log file. Then a configuration file (not the same file I downloaded) was just emptied. That is all I did, nothing else.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you able to reproduce that issue at this time? If you can reproduce it, please open a support ticket to report this issue. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  6. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I will see what I can do, I don't have any open accounts that I can setup a test on. I cant do this while this client is active because he relies on this site. Plus I already took a number of precautions on this account that will be difficult to setup a recreation. Because I believe in cPanel I will get this done but not sure when I will have time.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Let us know if you are able to reproduce the issue, as it's not something I could reproduce on a test machine.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page