The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

File Manager Adding Whitespace

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by spork985, Jul 3, 2014.

  1. spork985

    spork985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can someone please explain why the File Manager Editor in cPanel is adding white space to the beginning and end of EVERY file? The white space does not appear when editing in Notepad++. I'm on cPanel 11.44.0 build 19. Thanks.

    /http://someimage.com/e4uF1S0
     
  2. longprao

    longprao Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having exactly the same problem. It happens on both of my VPS, only from WHM version 11.44.0 19.

    Please note it will only add white space when you open a file, if you do not save it, the file will still be original.

    It's very annoying please fix soon.
     
  3. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I'm not able to reproduce this issue on a test server. I can edit a php file using the File Manager (used both Edit and Code Editor) and it is not adding any extra whitespace for me.

    Please feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature. Our analysts can investigate that for you. Please post the ticket number here, so we can update this thread accordingly.
     
  4. spork985

    spork985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi. I opened a support ticket with the reseller, buycpanel.com. The person who answered my ticket was able to replicate the problem. They took it back to the cPanel developers and opened an "internal bug ticket" with case number 103453. Does that mean anything to you? Are you able to see the status?
     
  5. stroebs

    stroebs Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am experiencing this as well - it is becoming troublesome and causing a lot of errors for my PHP pages.
     
  6. cPanelAdamF

    cPanelAdamF cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    fix is on the way
     
  7. spork985

    spork985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks you!
     
  8. jpcaparas

    jpcaparas Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Add me to the list. This causes "headers already sent" problems on Wordpress whenever I try to modify a plugin.

    This happened to both my VPS and dedicated server, each running the latest version of cPanel.
     
  9. knuttykitten

    knuttykitten Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Please add me to the notification list as well,

    Thanks!
    Tina
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. Cronix-Hosting

    Cronix-Hosting Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulakan, Bulacan, Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Cpanel 11.44.1 (build 11) WhiteSpaces From Head to Footer Bug Help!

    PHP:
    //Normal Simple PHP
    =============
    <?php
     
    ?>
    ==============


    PHP:
    //white space bug
    =============
              <?php
     
    ?>
               
    ==============

    Error : Cannot modify header information - header already sent by ( output started at /home/user/public_html ......
    To fix i need to remove the spaces..

    the main thing is here when you try to install a forum software manually .. it trows allot of error because of that bug.. i hope someone will help me regarding this problem :( . My C panel Theme is paper_lantern.

    you need to remove the white spaces before you press save ... it always come back when you try to open it.. so you need to keep in mind to remove that white spaces before saved :( ... thank you.
     
  12. Neso

    Neso Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just to confirm I also get this error, and every time file is changed it will cause errors with most of scripts.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The current workaround is to switch to the X3 theme until the issue has been addressed. You can monitor our change log for case number 103453 to see when the resolution has been released:

    cPanel 11.44 - Change Log

    Thank you.
     
  14. harunbaba

    harunbaba Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When will paper_lantern fix come for this issue?
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The resolution for this internal case was released in cPanel version 11.44.1.15. Are you still experiencing this issue after updating cPanel?

    Thank you.
     
  16. harunbaba

    harunbaba Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm using 11.44.1 (build 17) and I have still whitespace in file manager editor.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  18. harunbaba

    harunbaba Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ticket support team located a new internal case related to this issue in their system - 110241.
    They informed me that development team is looking to get this fix added within the 11.44.2x branch.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is correct. Internal case number 110241 will address an issue where an extraneous whitespace is added when using the text editor in File Manager. Please monitor our change log for the inclusion of this case number:

    cPanel - Change Logs

    Thank you.
     
  20. simen

    simen Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I can confirm that I have the whitespace issue, too, and I'm on build 17. Using Paper Lantern.

    Another problem I'm having with Paper Lantern is that I can't access the app "R1Soft Restore Backups", when I click on it I get a 404 error. If I switch to the x3 theme, everything works properly - so I manually have to switch back and forth when I have to use that app.
     
Loading...

Share This Page