The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

File Manager/Editor and the & sign...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Devil Inside, Jun 4, 2004.

  1. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a client who was editing an html file with the editor in the File Manager.

    When the user used the & symbol - the file manager replaced it with %amp;

    This is fine. Though when he edited it again it replaced the %amp; with %amp;%amp;

    which then creates && in the viewed page.

    How can this be stopped?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I doubt you'll be able to do anything about it - if you can recreate the problem, log it with cPanel or create a bugzilla entry.
     
  3. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This was actually a known problem at the time, upgrade to RELEASE if you haven't already. It was fixed.
     
  4. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    oh whoa - didn't know that release 104 was out now.

    Thanks for that :)
     
  5. Kasper.S

    Kasper.S Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel html editor

    Hello,

    I havent get ä,ö working when using cPanel html-editor. If i put 'ä' straightly or as a special character or 'ä' and save it, it is changed to ä in the file. How to get ä.ö right? I sthis bug in my current cPanel?

    I have WHM 9.4.0 cPanel 9.4.1-R55
    RedHat Enterprise 3 - WHM X v3.1.0

    - Kasper.S
     
  6. clgray

    clgray Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HTML Editor adding

    I have clients having the same, or similar, problem. After editing a page with the built-in editor pages have junk charaters added in the code. Even opening a file and then saving it without making changes does this.

    I'm new to the forum and working to solve this for my clients. Help :)

    Running WHM 9.4.0 cPanel 9.4.1-S65 RedHat 9 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  7. fresco

    fresco Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This seems to be a huge problem for up to 60 of our clients.
    When the WYSIWYG editor pops up, why is there not a charset=ISO-8859-1 for the header output? Would this not fix this issue?
    I also noticed the HTML editor ADDS spaces between images as well (the html seems to be brought in and formatted, which adds a newline character which is saved and provides a space when rendered).
    Help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  8. fresco

    fresco Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Something else I noticed when I VI'd the ".wysywigPro_edit_testing_html.php" file which is created in the root directory of one of the web servers: ALL PHP <? ?> tags are substituted with <!-- tags (which also removes the first letter of the tag).

    $body = '<!--nclude(\'header.php\');--><!--equire_once(\'common_functions.php\');--><!--
    <div class="half-left">
    ...etc...

    :(
     
  9. mydomain

    mydomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    This is still happening for our customers with the HTML editor in cPanel inserting junk characters into a page after editing it - seemingly where there is whitespace...

    Can anyone please advise further on this?

    TIA
     
Loading...

Share This Page