The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

File Manager . text colours

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by qim, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. qim

    qim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When I open a file in File Manager I find that after certain characters (e.g. the apostrophe) the text colour cganhes from blacvk to blue.

    What is it all about?

    Thanks
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's possible you're opening it with "code editor". This color codes where it can. Use the standard editor instead to avoid this. :)
     
  3. qim

    qim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi thanks

    Yes, I'm referring to the "Code editor" but what I am trying to work out is whether the coloues indicate some sort of error.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. qim

    qim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks. That helps.
    But why should an apostrophe change the colour of all text in fron of it? Is it telling that the apostrophe is a wrong carachter?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There are a few possible explanations. EX:

    https://github.com/tpope/vim-markdown/issues/29

    You can safely ignore it if you are certain your code is entered correctly. It's likely a good idea to create/edit your code in a local code editor and then paste/upload it, rather than developing directly from file manager.

    Thank you.
     
  7. qim

    qim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Thanks. It explains it. So, now the next question is: how do I fix that'

    I read in the other thread the following but it's all Chinese to me... (installing vim-markdown using Pathogen) . What are they talking about?


    What @tpope said is correct. Simply installing vim-markdown using Pathogen fixes (and overrides!) the default markdown.vim/modula2.vim :)
    Overrides as in, the incorrect usage of modula2 is gone. It doesn't mean the files are overwritten or anything
    .
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That external URL was just an example. It's not something you should do on a cPanel server. It was just to explain how it can happen in other applications. It's likely a good idea to create/edit your code in a local code editor and then paste/upload it, rather than developing directly from file manager.

    Thank you.
     
  9. qim

    qim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks

    Over & Out!
     
Loading...

Share This Page