The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

filesystem ext3 si not supported by quota?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by choigd, Jan 12, 2002.

  1. choigd

    choigd Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can\'t use quota.
    How can I use quota system on ext3.
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would definitely second that motion-
    that is, I\'ve never had any luck with the quota installation included with CPanel in conjunction with an ext3 filesystem.... this is *barely* mentioned elsewhere on the forum.

    Does anyone have any light to shed on this..... I am very interested in what others have found / if anything.

    Thank you!
    Weekends are F-U-N.....

    :P
     
  3. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I guess no one knows, but I would also like to know if ext3 is supported.
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Darkorb- Any wisdom available on this?

    Definitely curious still. :(

    I have conflicting results on a variety of RH 7.2 systems and to be honest I really don\'t know what to be looking for in this area.... technically.
     
  5. fizz

    fizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have the same problem on a EXT3 filesystem
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nick, could we get some guidance on this issue?

    I hate to post to bump things to the top again so you see them... this really is important to many individuals and will become more important as time progresses.

    Thanks man.
     
  7. indiboi

    indiboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Quotas are handled by the kernel... the only fs that supports quotas is the ext2 fs, according to documentation for the latest stable 2.4.17.

    [quote:a267a38c1a]
    Quota support
    CONFIG_QUOTA
    If you say Y here, you will be able to set per user limits for disk
    usage (also called disk quotas). Currently, it works only for the
    ext2 file system. You need additional software in order to use quota
    support; for details, read the Quota mini-HOWTO, available from
    <http://www.linuxdoc.org/docs.html#howto>. Probably the quota
    support is only useful for multi user systems. If unsure, say N.
    [/quote:a267a38c1a]
     
  8. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This is so frustrating! Some users have ext3 and they report quotas to be working on their systems.
     
  9. raylin

    raylin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Should I use ext2 instead of ext3 ?

    root@host1 [/home/java]# quotacheck -mavug
    Cannot get exact used space... Results might be inaccurate.
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/home] done
    quotacheck: Checked 33 directories and 95 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/usr] done
    quotacheck: Checked 5508 directories and 75436 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda6 [/var] done
    quotacheck: Checked 206 directories and 773 files
    root@host1 [/home/java]# quota -u java
    Disk quotas for user java (uid 32004):
    Filesystem blocks quota limit grace files quota limit grace
    /dev/sda5 332 102400 102400 54 0 0
    /dev/sda6 0 102400 102400 1 0 0
    root@host1 [/home/java]# du -h
    4.0k ./mail
    4.0k ./public_ftp/incoming
    8.0k ./public_ftp
    4.0k ./public_html/cgi-bin
    73M ./public_html
    132k ./tmp/analog/2002.01
    160k ./tmp/analog
    132k ./tmp/webalizer
    4.0k ./tmp/webalizerftp
    300k ./tmp
    4.0k ./.trash
    73M .
    root@host1 [/home/java]#

    User java uses 73M space, but from quota and Cpanel only 0.32Mb used space.

    Does Cpanel support ext3 on a Redhat 7.2 machine ?

    Or should I format fs with ext2 instead ext3 ?
     
  10. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes raylin, I just found out the hard way. Cpanel and quotas DO work very well with ext3 as long as you have 7.2 I am running 3 boxes now with 7.2 and everything is running great with quotas.

    As I understand it, quotas do not work with ext3 on RedHat 6.2, but they should work on 7.2.
     
  11. Vince

    Vince Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ext3kit - the 6.2 fi

    Hi there,

    I wrote an installer to update everything required to fix ext3 + quotas on RedHat 6.2 machines running ext3.
    It's available here:
    http://neural.site5.com/~vince/ext3kit.tgz


    Be warned: If you install this without enabling ext3 in your kernel and switching your machine over to ext3 by editing /etc/fstab and rebooting, quotas WILL cease to function on 6.2 boxes. If you don't know how to enable ext3 in your kernel, or check to see if ext3 is enabled in your kernel, [b:ff885ad372]you should not be using this script![/b:ff885ad372] You would be better off paying someone else to do it for you.

    How it works:
    Updates the quota-tools package.
    Updates the e2fsprogs package.
    Replaces /scripts/pedquota with a version which understands the new quota-tools output. (The stock Cpanel version, slightly modded to only support RH7.2 (ie, a later version of quota-tools.)).

    I've successfully used the above method to upgrade all of our shared machines which run 6.2.
    Of course, this script comes with no warrenties, guarantees or promises of functionality or reliability. If you break your server while trying to use this script--I am not in any way responsible!

    Installation instructions:
    tar -zxvf ext3kit.tgz; cd ext3kit; perl install.pl

    Enjoy.

    Vince.
     
  12. avara

    avara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Just enabled quota support on a server with RedHat 7.1, EXT3 and kernel 2.4.18.

    Appears to be working fine.
     
Loading...

Share This Page