The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/ filling up, for the life of me can't see what it might be

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gbh, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would appreciate any thoughts. Have been trawling posts for 2 days and not having any significant luck.
    Only started getting partition full erors approx 12 hours after a reboot, has been fine for months prior to that.

    Code:
    root@tank [/]# df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5             9.7G  9.5G   34M 100% /
    tmpfs                 1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1             291M  138M  138M  51% /boot
    /dev/sda8             258G   13G  233G   6% /home
    /dev/sda7             3.9G   73M  3.6G   2% /tmp
    /dev/sda2             9.9G  6.8G  2.6G  73% /usr
    /dev/sda3             9.9G  1.3G  8.2G  14% /var
    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:/mnt/tank/skunkworks/tank.xxx.com
                          200G   23G  178G  12% /mnt/backups
    
    backup is on / but it's linked to /home/backup but it's empty/not in use
    I also have remote /mnt/backup and this is where backups are directed

    nothing at all dramatic when doing a ls in /root

    fstab looks like this
    Code:
    root@tank [~]# cat /etc/fstab
    
    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Sun May 27 06:06:40 2012
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    UUID=a9374b4d-dbea-464d-9203-3cd6af039c46 / ext4 defaults,usrquota   1 1
    UUID=dbbe179b-e6b9-460c-921d-a329f2c7ad5e /boot                   ext4    defaults        1 2
    UUID=aec5f695-3cd8-4d55-bfa3-faae514e307d /home ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=5b760c4f-2f4b-4f1b-8db0-57fa099dfdbb /tmp                    ext4    loop,noexec,nosuid,rw         1 2
    UUID=44a50a4e-bf87-4461-9dd6-5e715cb2a199 /usr  ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=c54bfa24-1af4-42b3-9b10-c613df8134c5 /var  ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=40485749-084c-4d93-9afe-909b302e2944 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs  noexec,nosuid        0 0
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults,noexec,nosuid        0 0
    
    
    also if I'm in / and do a

    Code:
    ls -lR | less
    and then scroll through everything, nothing at all jumps out at me as an especially big file.

    have done a
    Code:
    yum clean all
    no mention of disk errors in /var/log/messages at all

    lost+found is empty

    I've been through pretty much everything and removed what I could.
    I'm think I'm now getting snow blind

    hoping someone here can make further suggestions?
    I haven't tried a reboot yet, thinking that's next.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you can start with this:
    Code:
    du -h --max-depth=1 /
    
    then you will see what directory is taking the most space.
    Just ignore those that are mounted, i.e. /home /tmp /usr /var
     
  3. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Also check /home/cpbackuptmp/ as this can sometimes take up considerable working space whilst backups are being created, depending on the size of your sites
     
  4. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks for the help!

    running du -h --max-depth=1 / now it got down to /tmp and then looks like it's either still working or died, will let it run and report back.

    I also don't have a /home/cpbackuptmp/ dir at all anywhere on the machine.
     
  5. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well du -h --max-depth=1 / has been running for about 9 hours now and just seems to have stopped..
    output is currently as below
    any further thoughts greatly appreciated
    the 15-20 meg of space I cleared up last night by removing a bunch of small stuff seems to have been filled again now
    8+(

    Code:
    root@tank [/home]# du -h --max-depth=1 /
    83M     /etc
    7.6M    /bin
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/task/29077/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/task/29077/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    0       /proc
    0       /sys
    16K     /selinux
    16K     /lost+found
    1011M   /var
    13G     /home
    513M    /lib
    8.3M    /root
    168K    /dev
    32M     /lib64
    4.0K    /srv
    0       /net
    128M    /boot
    6.7G    /usr
    1.1M    /tmp
    
    
    
     
  6. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried unmounting the nfs mount /mnt/backups in case that had anything to do with it.
    no change

    I also just rebooted.
    no change.


    any further thoughts greatly appreciated.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - filling life can't
  1. Leriss
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    540

Share This Page