Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/ filling up, for the life of me can't see what it might be

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gbh, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would appreciate any thoughts. Have been trawling posts for 2 days and not having any significant luck.
    Only started getting partition full erors approx 12 hours after a reboot, has been fine for months prior to that.

    Code:
    root@tank [/]# df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5             9.7G  9.5G   34M 100% /
    tmpfs                 1.9G     0  1.9G   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1             291M  138M  138M  51% /boot
    /dev/sda8             258G   13G  233G   6% /home
    /dev/sda7             3.9G   73M  3.6G   2% /tmp
    /dev/sda2             9.9G  6.8G  2.6G  73% /usr
    /dev/sda3             9.9G  1.3G  8.2G  14% /var
    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:/mnt/tank/skunkworks/tank.xxx.com
                          200G   23G  178G  12% /mnt/backups
    
    backup is on / but it's linked to /home/backup but it's empty/not in use
    I also have remote /mnt/backup and this is where backups are directed

    nothing at all dramatic when doing a ls in /root

    fstab looks like this
    Code:
    root@tank [~]# cat /etc/fstab
    
    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Sun May 27 06:06:40 2012
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    UUID=a9374b4d-dbea-464d-9203-3cd6af039c46 / ext4 defaults,usrquota   1 1
    UUID=dbbe179b-e6b9-460c-921d-a329f2c7ad5e /boot                   ext4    defaults        1 2
    UUID=aec5f695-3cd8-4d55-bfa3-faae514e307d /home ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=5b760c4f-2f4b-4f1b-8db0-57fa099dfdbb /tmp                    ext4    loop,noexec,nosuid,rw         1 2
    UUID=44a50a4e-bf87-4461-9dd6-5e715cb2a199 /usr  ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=c54bfa24-1af4-42b3-9b10-c613df8134c5 /var  ext4 defaults,usrquota 1   2
    UUID=40485749-084c-4d93-9afe-909b302e2944 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs  noexec,nosuid        0 0
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults,noexec,nosuid        0 0
    
    
    also if I'm in / and do a

    Code:
    ls -lR | less
    and then scroll through everything, nothing at all jumps out at me as an especially big file.

    have done a
    Code:
    yum clean all
    no mention of disk errors in /var/log/messages at all

    lost+found is empty

    I've been through pretty much everything and removed what I could.
    I'm think I'm now getting snow blind

    hoping someone here can make further suggestions?
    I haven't tried a reboot yet, thinking that's next.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you can start with this:
    Code:
    du -h --max-depth=1 /
    
    then you will see what directory is taking the most space.
    Just ignore those that are mounted, i.e. /home /tmp /usr /var
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Also check /home/cpbackuptmp/ as this can sometimes take up considerable working space whilst backups are being created, depending on the size of your sites
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks for the help!

    running du -h --max-depth=1 / now it got down to /tmp and then looks like it's either still working or died, will let it run and report back.

    I also don't have a /home/cpbackuptmp/ dir at all anywhere on the machine.
     
  5. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well du -h --max-depth=1 / has been running for about 9 hours now and just seems to have stopped..
    output is currently as below
    any further thoughts greatly appreciated
    the 15-20 meg of space I cleared up last night by removing a bunch of small stuff seems to have been filled again now
    8+(

    Code:
    root@tank [/home]# du -h --max-depth=1 /
    83M     /etc
    7.6M    /bin
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/task/29077/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/task/29077/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/fd/4': No such file or directory
    du: cannot access `/proc/29077/fdinfo/4': No such file or directory
    0       /proc
    0       /sys
    16K     /selinux
    16K     /lost+found
    1011M   /var
    13G     /home
    513M    /lib
    8.3M    /root
    168K    /dev
    32M     /lib64
    4.0K    /srv
    0       /net
    128M    /boot
    6.7G    /usr
    1.1M    /tmp
    
    
    
     
  6. gbh

    gbh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Sydney
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I tried unmounting the nfs mount /mnt/backups in case that had anything to do with it.
    no change

    I also just rebooted.
    no change.


    any further thoughts greatly appreciated.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice