Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Find cause of high load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RetiredAF, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. RetiredAF

    RetiredAF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    On a few occasions we have experienced an huge and brief increase in load on our server (example follows). We'd like to find out what is causing this. If something would just run top and record the results when the load went above a certain level that might be a start. Anybody know how we might do that.

    10:00:01 PM runq-sz plist-sz ldavg-1 ldavg-5 ldavg-15
    ...

    11:30:01 PM 10 458 0.53 0.65 0.69
    11:40:01 PM 10 458 0.48 0.60 0.63
    11:50:40 PM 0 779 172.29 98.67 41.33
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The best thing to do would be to get alerted when load is high so you can log in and take a look, or better yet leave top running on the server for a while so you don't have to bother logging in.

    CSF/LFD has a high load alert it can send out when it sees load is above a certain point.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    RetiredAF likes this.
  3. RetiredAF

    RetiredAF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks but so far this has only occurred at night when we are in bed so we were look for someway to automate this.
     
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I'm afraid that is not something we have done before as we have detailed monitoring systems that take care of that kind of thing for us. The command to dump the output of top to a file is

    top -b -n 1 > top.txt

    But you'd have to write a bash script that checked load and then ran that command to dump the output for you. I don't have a ready made solution for that though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    RetiredAF likes this.
  5. RetiredAF

    RetiredAF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Thanks again. Actually your mention of CSF/LFD got me looking in that direction and I think this might be what I was looking for.
    webhostpython.com/billing/knowledgebase.php?action=displayarticle&id=66
     
    #5 RetiredAF, Mar 19, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2019
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,815
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    RetiredAF likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice