Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Find out what takes all the disk space

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MattDeox, May 18, 2014.

  1. MattDeox

    MattDeox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have a vps with a 40GB SSD harddrive.


    cPanel WHM shows 35G used under Disk Usage.

    When I check the accounts the combined disk usage is 3517 MB.

    How can I find out what takes those other 30GB? I think the system itself and cpanel takes some space but not 30GB right?

    Thanks
     
  2. mlew2

    mlew2 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    look in /backups I had lost most of my space with automatic backups
     
  3. MattDeox

    MattDeox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just check the backup configuration and backups are disabled, so it can't be it, right?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    The following document should help you to determine where your disk space usage is coming from:

    cPanel - Managing HD Space

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. MattDeox

    MattDeox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When executing the "du -sh /" command via root I get the following error:

    Any Idea what's wrong there?
     
  6. MattDeox

    MattDeox Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It worked doing "du -sh /*"

    It seems 26G is taken by "/var/lib/mysql/ibdata1" which should be innodb tables.
    Isn't this already counted for mysql in the user accounts?

    There it shows 3G for mysql, so how do the 26G of that file make sense?
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The file you referenced is not associated with disk space usage for your accounts. It contains InnoDB data. There is a thread on this here:

    ibdata1 file too large

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice