The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firefox issue with two different cPanels

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wrburgess, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. wrburgess

    wrburgess Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use Firefox for most of my web development and I access a cPanel interface with two different hosting firms.

    Recently, my ability to edit secure files or create cron jobs via cPanel has ceased...but only on Firefox. Using identical credentials, I can make changes with IE or Chrome just fine.

    I receive this error below when I attempt to edit an .htaccess file with Firefox. Again, this happens with two different hosting firms and despite my having the write access permissions for the files. Other browsers work fine. In addition, when I try to create Cron jobs, the Save process not only doesn't work, it erases any jobs created before.

    Can anyone help? I'd like to continue using Firefox with cPanel.

    note: I replaced the name of my domain in the error code below with the term "example"

    open .htaccess failed: Permission denied at cpanel.pl line 663
    Carp::croak('open .htaccess failed: Permission denied') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Fileman.pm line 1139
    Cpanel::Fileman::fmsavefile('%2fhome%2fexample', '.htaccess', '<IfModule mod_suphp.c>^M^J suPHP_ConfigPath /home/example/^M^J <File...', 1, 1) called at cpanel.pl line 663
    main::__ANON__('%2fhome%2fexample', '.htaccess', '<IfModule mod_suphp.c>^M^J suPHP_ConfigPath /home/example/^M^J <File...', 1, 1) called at cpanel.pl line 1766
    main::exectag('<cpanel Fileman="fmsavefile($FORM{\'dir\'},$FORM{\'file\'},$FORM...') called at cpanel.pl line 4742
    main::dotag(undef) called at cpanel.pl line 4625
    main::cpanel_parseblock('SCALAR(0x93c49b4)') called at cpanel.pl line 4577
    main::cpanel_parse('GLOB(0x9a5a638)') called at cpanel.pl line 1303
     
    #1 wrburgess, Mar 28, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2009
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have proper file ownership of the .htaccess file? If you let a PHP application generate a .htaccess file and it isn't run as the user (by SuPHP or other means), it is possible you do not have proper access to modify this file. You will need to ask your hosting providers to verify this for you.

    While that is a common issue, it seems abnormal that you can't edit this in Firefox but can in IE or Chrome.
     
    #2 cPanelDavidG, Mar 30, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  3. wrburgess

    wrburgess Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes. I have all the permissions necessary.
     
  4. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I would turn off all addons to firefox, restart the browser, and retry. I've had to disable an addon recently because of some strange issues. If that works, start enabling them one by one, and try to figure out the addon that is causing the issue. If you have YSlow, try that one first, as that was the one I had to disable.
     
Loading...

Share This Page