The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by impactgc, Oct 20, 2006.

  1. impactgc

    impactgc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I hope someone can help me.. I have installed CPanel on Centos - everything looks fine, but I can't login as root. This is the first attempt to login and the root password hasn't changed.

    Under the log file - it says cpanel: invalid user
    Thank you for your help!!

    Adam
     
    #1 impactgc, Oct 20, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2006
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Cpanel or WHM? You can't log in to cpanel until you create an account in WHM.
     
  3. impactgc

    impactgc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Can't login into cpanel xxx.xxxx.xxx/cpanel.

    Hmm I tried to go to xxx.xxx.xxxx/whm and that didn't seem too work either.

    and the port number didn't work either..
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What about serverIP:2086 or 2087 if a self-signed certificate has been created?
     
  5. impactgc

    impactgc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It works locally.. It must be a firewall issue. I will have my techs look at the firewall.
     
  6. impactgc

    impactgc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yea it looks like firewall.

    Thanks for the help!!! It should work once the firewall is set!
     
  7. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Possible since firewalls tend to block ports. Even using /whm still uses port 2086. The /whm and /cpanel are just redirects.
     
  8. rikgarner

    rikgarner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    /dev/null
    I'v got to recommend using https for WHM, so https://mydomain.com:2087.

    Just one thing to add, a lot of web-proxies dont like https on weird ports, we had to tweak our proxy to allow us access to whm securely.

    Rich
     
Loading...

Share This Page