The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fixquotas causing lots of server load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by arn, Aug 29, 2002.

  1. arn

    arn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a WHM/CPanel machine...

    every night fixquotas runs at 22:01 and the server gets loaded down for about 20 minutes. Server loads go up to the high single digits, and bog down my server.

    Is this normal?

    I can't seem to find the location of this cron script...

    arn
     
  2. parag

    parag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:270f0a1cda][i:270f0a1cda]Originally posted by arn[/i:270f0a1cda]


    I have a WHM/CPanel machine...

    every night fixquotas runs at 22:01 and the server gets loaded down for about 20 minutes. Server loads go up to the high single digits, and bog down my server.

    Is this normal?

    I can't seem to find the location of this cron script...

    arn
    [/quote:270f0a1cda]

    hi arn

    connect to your server through ssh. on the prompt do this

    root@name&crontab -l

    find out the entry for /scripts/fixquotas

    then edit the file with crontab -e command and remove it..

    cheers
    Parag
     
  3. arn

    arn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [quote:3f70402a5f][i:3f70402a5f]Originally posted by parag[/i:3f70402a5f]

    find out the entry for /scripts/fixquotas

    then edit the file with crontab -e command and remove it..

    cheers
    Parag[/quote:3f70402a5f]

    do I not need it?

    arn
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you want quotas to work as often as possible, you should leave that in your nightly cron. It's very normal for the load to shoot up during the time it runs....

    If you want to reschedule during a different time, or bi-weekly, or something along those lines, just contact fastservers tech support and they will help you out, no problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page