The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fixquotas runs quotacheck on all partitions TWICE?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Is it typical for fixquotas to run quotacheck on all partitions twice?

    I've been waiting all evening for this to complete, and now it seems to be looping back to the beginning. Here is the main part of the output in SSH I am looking at:

    Updating Quota Files......
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/] quotacheck: Old group file not found. Usage will not be substracted.
    quotacheck: Checked 1232 directories and 15911 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda8 [/home] done
    quotacheck: Old group file not found. Usage will not be substracted.
    quotacheck: Checked 397516 directories and 4563666 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda3 [/usr] done
    quotacheck: Old group file not found. Usage will not be substracted.
    quotacheck: Checked 18547 directories and 163400 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda2 [/var] done
    quotacheck: Old group file not found. Usage will not be substracted.
    quotacheck: Checked 2669 directories and 91777 files
    done


    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda5 [/] quotacheck: Old group file not found. Usage will not be substracted.
    quotacheck: Checked 1232 directories and 15911 files
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/sda8 [/home] done
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please check that you are not using journaled quotas in /etc/fstab

    Code:
    grep quota /etc/fstab 
    If you see something similar to the following:

    Code:
    ,usrjquota=aquota.user,jqfmt=vfsv0
    This would indicate journaled quotas. You would need to remount the partition or partitions without using journaled quotas.
     
  3. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks for your reply. I don't think that's the issue, here's the readout I get:

    root@orion [~]# grep quota /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 1
    LABEL=/home /home ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/usr /usr ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2
    LABEL=/var /var ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2

    The fixquota routine ran several hours, during which time it ran up the load quite a bit but still did not fix the issue, all the account quotas in WHM are still listed as unlimited.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a ticket at this point for us to investigate further so we can see why the quotas aren't properly updating. You can use either WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or use the link in my signature. Thanks!
     
  5. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks I did submit a ticket and here's what the cPanel.net tech did to fix the issue:

    quotaoff -a
    quotacheck -acfmv
    /scripts/resetquotas
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: Journaled Quotas are now supported as of version 11.32.3.2
     
  7. acko

    acko Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello i have WHM 11.30.5 (build 3)
    and have issue with quotas.
    Here is my grep quota /etc/fstab:
    LABEL=/ / ext3 usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vfsv0 1 1
    /tmp /var/tmp ext3 defaults,usrquota,bind,noauto 0 0

    One of you staff told me that i can not use jurnaled quotas and i need to convert to normal.
    I am not sure how to do it, any help ?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,685
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Since you are using cPanel 11.30.5, you would need to remount the partition without using journaled quotas. This involves editing your /etc/fstab file and using the "mount" command. If you are not comfortable doing this, I suggest contacting your data center or a qualified system administrator to assist you with this change.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page