The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

fontpage and server load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by webofunni, Jun 10, 2007.

  1. webofunni

    webofunni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When ever my clients connects with frontpage the server load increases suddenly. The top command shows that the process author.exe consumes about 90% of cpu. Why this occurs. Is there any fault in frontpage extension installation.
     
  2. eNetHosts

    eNetHosts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What are you server specifications?

    CPU, RAM, cPanel Version etc?
     
  3. webofunni

    webofunni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    ============================================
    top - 16:25:34 up 23 days, 7:07, 3 users, load average: 2.15, 3.56, 3.88
    Tasks: 132 total, 3 running, 125 sleeping, 1 stopped, 3 zombie
    Cpu(s): 86.4% us, 13.3% sy, 0.0% ni, 0.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.3% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 1003172k total, 918272k used, 84900k free, 31152k buffers
    Swap: 8193096k total, 130380k used, 8062716k free, 177560k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    29796 ram 25 0 26056 17m 2732 R 67.9 1.8 0:06.40 shtml.exe
    18131 mailnull 25 0 3596 1976 768 R 21.3 0.2 0:00.64 clamscan
    =========================================

    Above is the result of top command. See the shtml.exe from fp extension consumes cpu and memory.

    My cpanel version is : 11.4.6-CURRENT_13580
    Mem : 1003172k total
    cpu :

    root@cp6 [~]# cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 15
    model : 2
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz
    stepping : 7
    cpu MHz : 2666.432
    cache size : 512 KB
    fdiv_bug : no
    hlt_bug : no
    f00f_bug : no
    coma_bug : no
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 2
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe cid
    bogomips : 5336.83
     
  4. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Frontpage ext can be very cpu intensive. Unfortunately since they are no longer maintained, there isn't going to be any optimization of them.
     
  5. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nick

    Any idea how long cpanel is going to support frontpage extensions ?

    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We don't officially support them anymore.
     
  7. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know support officially was pulled. Perhaps a better way to put it is how long is frontpage going to be available in easyapache/whm ?

    I know dav is going to take over some of the live file authoring functions but a lot of our customers are hooked on FP and was just wondering how long it would be available for use before its removed from cpanel.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As soon as the first unfix able security exploit is announced most likely.
     
  9. vagsoftware

    vagsoftware Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wassup,

    There are methods to restrict usage of cpu and ram per account (monitoring with alert, or even virtualization if you have the proper machine for this), bandwidth (mod_bandwidth) also. Apply them and you can user frontpage ext safely or whatever software you want to share on hosting.

    Respekt.
     
Loading...

Share This Page