The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

For all people which are switching from Ensim/Plesk to cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Radio_Head, Apr 18, 2003.

  1. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I strongly suggest you something .....

    1) do NOT provide a cpanel DEMO on your site , do NOT .

    2) do NOT provide SSH or any other type of shell .
    (no chroot here !)

    3) I have red that on Ensim/plesk there should be a feature to
    set php safe mode on/off . Here it's not possible , you have to play with apache conf file .

    4) turn off .. AwStat , Interchange , and all Java chats . This suggestions not for security but to make running your server better .



    My suggestions , then you decide .
     
    #1 Radio_Head, Apr 18, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2003
  2. rnh

    rnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes Java is such a resource hog.

    Can we turn off other things too that don't work?

    Like the search engine submission. EVERY SINGLE ONE goes to a 404 not found page.

    The end users pages are just too overwhelming flooded with all sorts of goodies, unfortunately hardly anything works.

    I'd like to turn more crap off in Cpanel because it's confusing to the end user and nothing works properly.

    KISS! Keep It Simple Stupid!
     
  3. Sash

    Sash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've only had a brief look at demo mode. What is so bad about a demo?

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  4. rnh

    rnh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think that he's saying that it's vulnerable.

    As in someone could hack into your server through the demo mode.
     
  5. grey259

    grey259 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Would I need to create a custom skin (or edit the current one) to turn some of the undesirable features off, or is there another way?
     
  6. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    points 1 , 2, 3 are about security

    About search engine I removed it too . I use a customized skin created myself and I removed all following outdated scripts that could have security problems ; they are outdated and the client rarely use it so I prefffered to remove them .
    Java Chat Room
    CGI Wrapper
    Random HTML Generator
    Simple Guestbook
    Advanced Guestbook
    cgiemail
    Setup EntropySearch
    Rebuild EntropySearch
    EntropyBanner


    I am using alternative programs for example istead of EntropyBanner I am providing phpads which is much better :D
     
  7. marius

    marius Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest
    demo account

    you can use the demo account.

    just chmod 000 demoaccount

    this way they cannot upload files using FTP.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would counter that IF you properly set it up then a demo account would be no more exploitable than a regular cpanel account (granted it would be more trackable but thats about all), another method would be just to link to darkobs one on the front page

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. marius

    marius Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest
    not for all cpanels.
    we have our own cpanel, in romanian language so the user must see this one :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    There is a new public test feature thats within WHM at the moment. In that whenever it's done, you'll be able to disable certain features so your users aren't able to use them.

    If you have root WHM, you can take a look at them. I wouldn't count on any of it working at the moment since its just a test, but it gives you a good idea of what it can do.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page