The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Force backup restart

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by apc1, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello,

    I need to run WHM backup but I am getting the message "daily backup is up to date".

    Is there a command to over-ride that and force backup to start?

    Thanks.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Just remove or rename the existing daily backup:

    rm -Rfv /backup/cpbackup/daily
     
  3. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, but that is not working.

    I have completely removed the existing cpbackup directory but the message returned is still "daily backup is up to date".

    Is there anything else I can do to force start the backup/

    Thanks.
     
  4. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check that you actually **have** removed the directory where your backups are happening (perhaps you may have changed it from /backup to /someotherbackupdirectory?). This message only happens when the daily backups directory (1) exists, and (2) is less than 0.5 days old. There is no other possible cause of the error message - I checked the code for cpbackup!

    grep BACKUPDIR /etc/cpbackup.conf (or WHM) will tell you where your backups are going.
     
  5. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes I checked all that and it still didn't work.

    I discovered how to fix it though. You need to do this:

    # touch -r /etc/localdomains.rpmnew /home/cpbackuptmp/cpbackup/daily

    This resets the date stamp for the backup so it can be ran again.

    Best regards.
     
  6. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can also make a new scripts and change the time frequency it checks for to something crazy line 5 minutes instead of .5 days.

    Code:
    if ($CONF{'BACKUPINT'} eq "daily") {
            if (! -e "${basedir}/daily") {
                    mkdir("${basedir}/daily",0711);
                    backupaccts("${basedir}/daily");
            } else {
                    chmod(0711,"${basedir}/daily");
                    if (isolderthen(.00001,"${basedir}/daily")) {
    was
    Code:
    if ($CONF{'BACKUPINT'} eq "daily") {
        if (! -e "${basedir}/daily") {
            mkdir("${basedir}/daily",0711);
            backupaccts("${basedir}/daily");
        } else {
            chmod(0711,"${basedir}/daily");
            if (isolderthen(.5,"${basedir}/daily")) {
    
    I created that file and called it forcebackups.
     
    #6 lloyd_tennison, Sep 20, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2005
  7. brianoz

    brianoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ah ... OK, so you didn't remove the right directory then, despite saying you did. :p

    The directory you should have removed is the one you touched ie /home/cpbackuptmp/cpbackup/daily - you must have changed it from the cpanel default.
     
  8. apc1

    apc1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not at all.

    The directory touched is another directory that WHM seems to use as an intermerdiate directory for the process. It also seem to be the one that maintains the time stamp.

    Removing or touching the directory specified in WHM will make no difference; I confirmed that.

    Best regards.
     
  9. moogle

    moogle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had the same issue as the original post.
    Had to add SMTP Authentication.

    I don't understand why cPanel goes back and forth on that. Silly thing is, although my clients need to do this on one server, none of the other servers have to right now. And none of my personal or business domains have ever made me do that.
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You appear to have posted in the wrong thread. This one is about backups.
     
  11. vannaco

    vannaco Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I seem to have problem with actually running the backups. Somehow it stopped and doesn't want to restart. Would anyone have a clue about how to fix this?
     
  12. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Another way to start the backup again is to change the date of the backup directory to an earlier time; Example
    Code:
    touch -t 200512110230 daily
    This would change the file date of the directory (daily) to 2005-12-11-0230 ( year/month/day/hour )
    Of course if you use windoze i have no idea how to do it :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page