Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

force https for a given website and not all hosted accounts

Discussion in 'Security' started by trucmuche, Nov 27, 2016.

Tags:
  1. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I host many websites using WHM/CPanel and for ONE of them, I would like to force my visitors to use HTTPS instead of HTTP. Of course, I have already installed a SSL certificate and I can perfectly see my website using https://subdomain.mydomain.com.

    Is there a way to force HTTPS on ONE account and not globally ?
    Is there a WHM/CPanel solution or should I use .htaccess ??

    Thank you very much for your help !

    T.
     
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To force all web traffic to use HTTPS insert the following lines of code in the .htaccess file in your website’s root folder.

    Important:If you have existing code in your .htacess, add this above where there are already rules with a similar starting prefix.


    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://www.example.com/$1 [R,L]
    
    Be sure to replace www.example.com with your actual domain name.

    To force a specific domain to use HTTPS, use the following lines of code in the .htaccess file in your website's root folder:
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^example\.com [NC]
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://www.example.com/$1 [R,L]
    
    Make sure to replace example\.com with the domain name you're trying force to https. Additionally, you need to replace example.com with your actual domain name.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 Eminds, Nov 27, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2016
  3. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks ! So, to ensure that I understand correctly your answer (because I'm not sure to understand perfectly the difference between the two alternatives you're talking about - what's the difference ?)...

    I would like to redirect the HTTP visitors of my subdomain to HTTPS address (when they try to access my website using HTTP, switch them to HTTPS). So I have to put a .htaccess file in the /home/mydomain/subdomain.example.com/ folder and write inside :
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^example\.com [NC]
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://subdomain.example.com/$1 [R,L]
    
    Is that right ? Or should I put this .htaccess (also ?) in /home/mydomain/public_html directory ?

    Thanks again !
     
    #3 trucmuche, Nov 27, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2016
  4. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You will have to use following code in your /home/mydomain/public_html directory and same code in your subdomain directory (/home/mydomain/subdomain.mydomain.com/), Just change your domain name to sub-domain.

    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://www.domain.com/$1 [R,L]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. trucmuche

    trucmuche Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you very much !! :)
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,532
    Likes Received:
    1,966
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see the provided information was helpful. Let us know if you have any additional questions.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice