The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forcing adverts on certain websites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HH-Steven, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, so i'm looking for a solution so that i can place adverts on users who are using a specific hosting package.

    I know there is quite a few scripts out there but i seem to be hitting a brick wall when it comes to using mod_layout.

    Everywhere i read it seems that mod_layout is no longer supported?

    If this is correct can someone suggest an alternative? preferably automated signup and ad placement.

    Cheers.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    There are currently no existing features with cPanel that would automate this. However, feel free to open a feature request for this in the following forum:

    Feature Requests for cPanel/WHM

    Thank you.
     
  3. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael & thank you for the response.

    I know cPanel has nothing built in to do this but there are a variety of scripts out there which can.

    All of which seem to use mod_layout which if im correct is no longer supported?

    Basically, what im asking is:

    Is mod_layout no longer supported?

    If not, is there any alternatives to using mod_layout?

    Thanks.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    There is a release of it for Apache 2.2 here:

    mod_layout

    There are online guides on installing it with cPanel such as this one:

    Linux Tips: Install mod_layout

    There is a forum thread approximately a year ago indicating another user followed the guide to get it working:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/mod_layout-installed-but-not-phpinfo-172049.html

    As such, my question would be--what has been done specifically to install and test mod_layout thus far?

    I haven't used it personally, but I can say that I see no updates to mod_layout since 2008. The idea of support can mean a lot of things. It does appear to have an Apache 2.2 version, which means it should hopefully install and work, so it is supported for Apache 2.2 to install. The creator doesn't seem to be updating it, so there is a lack of support for updates by the mod_layout creator.

    As for us supporting mod_layout, cPanel does not support any third party Apache modules that we do not provide in EasyApache. You are welcome to install such modules, but we do not support and have not supported mod_layout.

    Thanks!
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  6. HH-Steven

    HH-Steven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you everyone for your replys so far but i still can't seem to get it working.

    I've followed the guides linked to by Tristan

    My httpd.cnf shows:

    Code:
    LoadModule layout_module /usr/local/apache/modules/mod_layout.so
    The virtual host shows:

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 123.456.789.10:80>
        ServerName sub.domain.info
        ServerAlias www.sub.domain.info
    LayoutHeader /home/username/public_html/includes/adsh.html
    LayoutFooter /home/username/public_html/includes/adsf.html
    # /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -M

    Shows:

    Code:
    layout_module (shared)
    http/apache has been restarted.

    Server has been rebooted.

    But still no ads showing on the sites so at a bit of a loss here.....
     
  7. madihrb

    madihrb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    add this line also

    AddOutputFilter LAYOUT htm html php php3 php4 php5 shtml
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Forcing adverts certain
  1. upsforum
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    196

Share This Page