The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forgotten Password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SpottyDog, Apr 30, 2005.

  1. SpottyDog

    SpottyDog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can i create or does a script exist so i can make a form to go on my webhosting page so if people have forgotten ther username or password they can enter their email and get it sent to them?

    Thanks
     
  2. beekeeper

    beekeeper Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    if a user enters the wrong details 3 times then they are automatically redirected to a generic login page which includes the "forgotten password" script link.
     
  3. SpottyDog

    SpottyDog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Y

    Yes i understand this but i would like a form on one of my pages so the user can go there straight away instead of having to do it 4 times. And i would like it my my page not the generic one. Sorry to be fussy but is this possible

    Cheers
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    AFAIK, no, it's built into the cPanel code and there're no options to do what you're asking.
     
  5. SpottyDog

    SpottyDog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not to question your knowledge but i think it is possable because the WHM Autopilot script has it included in their script so it has to be possable some how.
     
    #5 SpottyDog, May 1, 2005
    Last edited: May 1, 2005
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They could well be using remote key authentication and comparing passwords in a local database to ge around it. If no-one has any ideas, you could try contacting them and asking them how they do it.
     
  7. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    That would be just password retrieval for WHMap but not for cPanel !
    Remember WHMap can have different login details as cPanel ;)
     
  8. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Don't think you can retrieve a password on a cpanel box i think you must reset only as the password is only stored in either crypt hash or md5 hash and not in plain text

    you can code a page to call /scripts/realchpass and do it that way with a custom form
     
    #8 dave9000, May 1, 2005
    Last edited: May 1, 2005
  9. SpottyDog

    SpottyDog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok since i am fairy new to cPanel how would i go about writting this script gettni to /scripts/realchpass ???
     
Loading...

Share This Page