The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Format/Mount a new drive process failed or incomplete. Unable to mount.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ronald.prism, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. ronald.prism

    ronald.prism Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm on WHM 11.30.5 (build 3)


    Did the "Format/Mount a new drive" function in cpanel but although we received the PROCESS COMPLETED message at the end, the newly formatted drive could not be mounted.

    Mount point /home2

    fdisk -l output:

    # /sbin/fdisk -l


    Disk /dev/sda: 251.0 GB, 251059544064 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30522 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes


    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 32 257008+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 33 30522 244910925 8e Linux LVM


    Disk /dev/sdb: 251.0 GB, 251059544064 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30522 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes


    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 30522 245167933+ 83 Linux


    /etc/fstab entry:
    /dev/sdb1 /home2 ext3 defaults,usrquota 1 2


    Attempts to mount manually result in:
    # mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /mnt
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1,
    missing codepage or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so



    # dmesg | tail
    sdb: sdb1
    SCSI device sdb: 490350672 512-byte hdwr sectors (251060 MB)
    sdb: Write Protect is off
    sdb: Mode Sense: 00 3a 00 00
    SCSI device sdb: drive cache: write back
    sdb: sdb1
    VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev sdb1.


    So at this point i believe the 2nd drive did not get formatted properly. Here is the displayed log during the format/mount operation:

    p primary partition (1-4)
    Partition number (1-4): Partition 1 is already defined. Delete it before re-adding it.


    Command (m for help): Command (m for help): +: unknown command
    Command action
    a toggle a bootable flag
    b edit bsd disklabel
    c toggle the dos compatibility flag
    d delete a partition
    l list known partition types
    m print this menu
    n add a new partition
    o create a new empty DOS partition table
    p print the partition table
    q quit without saving changes
    s create a new empty Sun disklabel
    t change a partition's system id
    u change display/entry units
    v verify the partition table
    w write table to disk and exit
    x extra functionality (experts only)


    Command (m for help): The partition table has been altered!


    Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.
    Syncing disks.
    Partitioned sdb
    tune2fs 1.39 (29-May-2006)
    Formatted sdb
    Mounted sdb


    Turning Quotas on for the new drive


    Linux Quota Support
    Quotas are now on
    Warning : Your system does not have a separate filesystem for backups. This may cause performance degradation during the backup process.
    /dev/sdb1 (enabling quotas)
    Updating Quota Files......
    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/mapper/SysVolGroup-LogVolRoot [/]
    ...
    quotacheck: Checked 36743 directories and 357767 files
    quotacheck: Can't create new quotafile //aquota.user.new: File exists
    quotacheck: Cannot initialize IO on new quotafile: File exists
    done



    quotacheck: Scanning /dev/mapper/SysVolGroup-LogVolRoot [/]
    ....
    quotacheck: Checked 36742 directories and 357765 files
    done

    ....Done
    PROCESS COMPLETE


    Can someone please help and tell me how to correct this?


    Thank you!
     
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Run the following commands as root via SSH.

    #mkfs.ext3 /dev/sdb1 - this will format sdb1 with ext3 FS

    When it completes, try to mount the drive using

    mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt

    Post the results back here!

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  3. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    If your OS supports ext4, I recoemmend you to try ext4 instead.

    #mkfs.ext4 /dev/sdb1
    #tune2fs -m 0 /dev/sdb1 - this will ensure the reserved space is et to 0%
    #mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt

    Thank you,
    Nibin.
     
  4. ronald.prism

    ronald.prism Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    That worked. Thank you.

    Unfortunately the installed OS does not support ext4.


    Best,
    Ronald
     
Loading...

Share This Page