The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forward Email to New Server

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by boxfan, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. boxfan

    boxfan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I have a cPanel system using CentOS. I am trying to change the DNS settings so that email sent to domain_a.com and domain_b.com goes to a different ip address where email will be processed (MailEnable server). The cPanel server has 5 domains and I only want to change the email settings on the two domains.

    So, I clicked on edit DNS zone and selected domain_a.com. I then changed the A record to point to the IP address of the machine I want email to be processed by. Now I have

    domain_a.com. 3600 IN MX mail.domain_a.com.

    mail 1440 IN A IP address of machine to handle email

    I saved the record and when email is sent from outside my network to user@domain_a.com the email is delivered to the correct machine (MailEnable server) but if the email comes from a user inside my network it bounces back with user not known and doesn't get forwarded to the MailEnable machine.

    Any ideas where I'm going wrong?
     
  2. ashokpomnar

    ashokpomnar Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Make sure that you have remove your domain entry from /etc/localdomains and place it in /etc/remotedomains File.
     
  3. boxfan

    boxfan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you! That worked perfectly.
     
  4. micdim

    micdim Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    I've been searching for a while and finally viewed your posts.

    I'm new to this and have a Reseller account with a company. So now one of my Clients wants to have their emails send to another IP address just like you explained in your post.

    When I go into Cpanel MX Entry and change the entry to point from domain_a.com to another IP Address which is a mail server, I get Mx Entry "mx-123-142.17.4 for example.

    Now if I read the help menu it tell me this:

    What is a MX Entry?

    Mx Entries determine how mail is delivered to your domain. If your mail is delivered to the server that your domain is on, you will not need to edit this. However, if your mail should be delivered to an external mail server or another domain, you need to point your MX entry to that location. Please note that a valid MX entry is the hostname of a server such as mail.mydomain.com. IP addresses, such as 65.455.23.10 are not valid. To send your mail to an external mail server, simply enter that server's name in the blank field and click on Change.

    ----------

    Can someone help me with this, or is this an administrative solution from the company I'm a reseller for?

    Your advice would be much appreciated.
     
  5. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    don't do it in the mx record edit area, do it in the dns zone editor.

    change,
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 0 domain.com.

    to,
    domain.com. 14400 IN MX 0 mail.domain.com.


    change,
    mail 14400 IN CNAME domain.com.

    to,
    mail 14400 IN A xx.xxx.xx.xxx

    Then make sure that you move the domain from /usr/localdomains to /usr/remotedomains
     
  6. micdim

    micdim Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    In order for me to change my DNS records I would have to go in my WHM Webhost Manager. Under Zone Template Editor i have 3 options.

    Options:
    standard - used for creating a the default zone on a new account and parked/addon domains
    simple - used for creating a zone with only an A entry for the domain.
    standardvirtualftp - used for creating a the default zone on a new account with a virtual ftp ip

    I'm thinking the "Simple" one would be the one to change.

    Here's what is shows me.

    ; cPanel %cpversion%
    ; Zone file for %domain%
    $TTL %ttl%
    @ %nsttl% IN SOA %nameserver%. %rpemail%. (
    %serial% ; serial, todays date+todays
    86400 ; refresh, seconds
    7200 ; retry, seconds
    3600000 ; expire, seconds
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds

    %domain%. %nsttl% IN NS %nameserver%.
    %domain%. %nsttl% IN NS %nameserver2%.
    %domain%. %nsttl% IN NS %nameserver3%.
    %domain%. %nsttl% IN NS %nameserver4%.

    %nameserverentry%. IN A %nameservera%
    %nameserverentry2%. IN A %nameservera2%
    %nameserverentry3%. IN A %nameservera3%
    %nameserverentry4%. IN A %nameservera4%

    %domain%. IN A %ip%

    localhost.%domain%. IN A 122.0.0.0

    %domain%. IN MX 0 %domain%.

    --------

    I'm not sure what to do with this. Can you help? There is no dns zone editor in my customers Cpanel, only the MX Entry editor.
     
    #6 micdim, May 25, 2007
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  7. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Editing those templates will effect all future domains you set up, not any current ones. I don't think that's what you want to do. In WHM, under DNS Functions, you should have a choice for Edit DNS Zone. Go there, then choose the domain you want to change.

    Look around these forums too, this situation has been discussed many times :)
     
  8. micdim

    micdim Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    The only options I have in WHM under DNS Functions is:
    - Edit Zone Templates (which has the options I describe earlier)
    - Park a Domain (I chooses "Domain to park on top of" and then put in the "Domain to Park"

    That's it! There's no "Edit DNS Zone"

    I guess the company I'm with has disabled this feature in WHM, and I've been trying to contact them, but no response.

    Any other solutions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,

    Micdim
     
  9. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could try logging in with a terminal and seeing if you can edit the domain's zone file in /var/named then restart/reload BIND. If you're unsure, wait to hear from your provider.
     
  10. micdim

    micdim Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    I got a hold of my provider through email and it seems they don't allow that option in my WHM, so they said they would make the changes for me.

    Thanks everyone for giving me feedback on how to handle this situation. Much appreciated. I hope everyone's weekend goes well.

    Have a good one.

    Thank you,

    Micdim
     
Loading...

Share This Page