The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Found a great alternate to Matt Wrights FormMail

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by AlaskanWolf, Nov 12, 2002.

  1. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    http://www.home-port.net/formmail/

    I set this up and the tests are great, it notifies the ISP of any jerk that thinks they can scan out formmail and exploit it.

    The problem is, im having problems with the global setup, i want to set it so it looks like


    # Global Alias for entire server
    Alias /cgi-bin/formmail.pl /home/mypath/www/formmail/formmail.php
    Alias /cgi-bin/formmail.cgi /home/mypath/www/formmail/formmail.php
    Alias /cgi-bin/FormMail.cgi /home/mypath/www/formmail/formmail.php
    Alias /cgi-bin/FormMail.pl /home/mypath/www/formmail/formmail.php

    But when i try it, nothing happens, Anyone got any suggestions? if this can be setup, its a great idea, yah i know formmail is also at cgi-sys but theres no way to force my customers to use it. so the next ideal step is to just cut them off at the server level so if they are still using formmail in their cgi-bin, they would unknowingly be using our formmail
     
  2. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    PS: i can get it to work say if i setup something like

    Alias /cgi-bina/formmail.cgi /home/directory/www/formmail/formmail.php
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    i take it no one really cares if your customers get exploited or not ? :(
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Mate, have you tried removing all of the cgi-bin aliases?
     
  5. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    when i do that, then their entire cgi-bin wont work, its been driving me up the wall

    I can get domain.com/(alias) such as anydomain.com/formmail.pl to work, but once i put the alias to point to cgi-bin/ it wont work
     
  6. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gary,

    Did you ever get this to work correctly? This would be a nice script to have!!

    Brad
     
  7. Brad

    Brad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got it to work with the Redirect method.

    The redirect will override the original cgi-bin directives and redirect to the script.

    Although it is not as transparent, it does allow the script to work as needed and you will be notified by the script, etc.

    Redirect /cgi-bin/formmail.pl http://foo2.bar.com/formmail/formmail.php

    I think this would work fine.

    Unfortunately, the request url is the redirect, thus we would not see the original request url.
     
  8. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    well i got that to work in the past, but its not what im really looking for, which is total stealth :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page