Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Free ssl from cPanel

Discussion in 'Security' started by pt21, May 28, 2017.

  1. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I installed a free ssl from cpanel for one of our websites.

    However I cannot figure out how to do this again for another website. Do you have a step by step instruction guide somewhere that could help me do this again for another website? Thanks so much!
     
    #1 pt21, May 28, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: May 28, 2017
  2. 24x7serversecurity

    24x7serversecurity Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You may want to refer: Manage AutoSSL - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Firstly, you need to enable the AutoSSL for that cPanel account for which you wish to install Free SSL.
    Home »SSL/TLS »Manage AutoSSL >> click on "Manage Users" tab >> search the user >> select "Enable AutoSSL" for that user >> click on "Check user".
    This will automatically install Free SSL on the domains under the user you selected. Further, you can Reinstall/Remove the Free SSL from cPanel >> SSL/TLS >> Manage SSL sites.
     
    pt21 likes this.
  3. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    thanks for your reply! However when I search for autossl it is not found on cpanel, how would I enable this?

    see attached picture for what is listed under ssl. thanks for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can find AutoSSL in WebHost Manager by searching for it from left menu search tool.
     
    pt21 likes this.
  5. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your help!

    1. I have enabled autossl for a few websites, one website showed the ssl live and working on a website right away, where another website when I went to the https version of the site did not show the ssl live and working right away. The server shows that they were installed correctly from the log. Is there a delay that sometimes happens or something I might have missed?

    2. Also I have a website that has an ssl expiring soon, what is the best way to replace that with an ssl from cpanel? It also has 2 subdomains. Should I delete the current ssl in cpanel and then autossl will auto install a new ssl for me on that domain?

    Thanks so much!
     
  6. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    disregard #1 above, I fixed it. Some images were not loading the https version. I downloaded a plugin which fixed this.

    any suggestions for #2?

    I cannot edit my post above every time I do it it says "Your content can not be submitted. This is likely because your content is spam-like or contains inappropriate elements." no matter how I edit it lol
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Once AutoSSL is enabled the system should take care of all of this for you.

    New users are not permitted to edit. ;)
     
    pt21 likes this.
  8. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ok thanks! the ssl installed correctly however I still have 2 pages that are not showing as secure, can I pm one of you mods the URLs? thanks so much
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's no need for that. Do you mean 2 websites, or 2 pages on one domain? These are completely different things. If its 2 pages, you'll want to change the links as needed on the website.
     
    pt21 likes this.
  10. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    its actually just 1 page, all the rest of the site shows secure however one page https://billing.domain.com/index.php always seems to redirect to the http non ssl page version, it was like this before with the old ssl also. all the other pages on billing. subdomain work properly
     
    #10 pt21, May 29, 2017
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    15,745
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might check your htaccess file for some sort of redirect that may have been previously set.
     
    pt21 likes this.
  12. pt21

    pt21 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for your help, will do!
     
Loading...

Share This Page