The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Free up an IP which is supposed to be free

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by justhost, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Hello all

    Maybe someone in here could help me out?

    I have a CPanel/WHM box with 5 available IP's (Say 6.6.6.1, through 6.6.6.5)

    The first 4 IP's have been assigned to sites. The 5th is supposed to be free but when I try to create a new site and assign it an IP I get the message saying there are no available IP's?

    When I click "Show IP Address Usage" I get the following:

    6.6.6.1 : some sites

    6.6.6.2: one site

    6.6.6.3: one site

    6.6.6.4: one site

    6.6.6.5: 6.6.6.5

    There is no site assigned to 5 but for some reason it says it is assigned to itself? I am sure this is something stupid but I am at a loss?

    Thanks ahead of time.
     
  2. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is it assigned to anything? Name servers maybe? Try to rebuild the IP database, or free IPs somewhere if you can.
     
  3. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Nope Nameservers are 1 and 2

    I have already run Rebuild the IP Address Pool

    And still can not use it???

    Its ticking me off

    lol
     
  4. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    is it actually assigned to itself?
     
  5. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Thats what it is showing but I cant seem to figure out how to remove that assignment?
     
  6. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    When I remove this IP I get the following messsage.

    eth0:4 is now down.

    ANd if I add it again I get the following message:

    SIOCSIFFLAGS: Cannot assign requested address
    eth0:4 is now up. 6.6.6.5/255.255.255.0 broadcast 6.6.6.255 has been added

    I am at a loss???

    Has anyone any idea what this is all about???
     
    #6 justhost, Nov 7, 2003
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2003
  7. justhost

    justhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Bump...

    I need this IP ... But it wont let me use it
     
Loading...

Share This Page