The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FreeBSD 5.3 Bind and Quotas, Help Please

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by NeutralGold, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello all,

    Last week I ordered a server from a dc, just for personal use to setup a few sites. It came with freebsd which I'm farely new to. I update the kernal for quota support and that's where everything goes wrong. As soon as I reboot the server everything seems to break.

    I followed the how-to via the post I found on this forum. The first time I did all this, was after I installed cpanel, everything worked fine until I did the kernal upgrade for quota support. I could not access the server via anything beside telnet and only for 5 minutes before it stopped taking commands. I've did numerious searches on this forum and haven't found anything with my specific problem.

    I had to get the DC to re image the drive so I could start over. I figured maybe I did something wrong and I had to recheck and be a little more careful with my steps. Well here I am again at the 2nd attempt with the same problem except the server won't even come back up after reboot.

    I used support at my dc to see if they could get my server back up and figure out the problem. I saw my service manager active again via there site so I logged in real quick to the server and disabled quota's, rebooted the server and it still didn't come up. I got a message from them this morning saying:

    Your server is online. Please check your configuration as there are services that are attempting to utilize the same ports.

    Aug 3 06:14:15 stunnel: LOG3[41386:134635520]: Error binding pop3s to 0.0.0.0:995
    Aug 3 06:14:15 stunnel: LOG3[41386:134635520]: bind: Address already in use (48)
    Aug 3 06:15:52 inetd[585]: ssh/tcp: bind: Address already in use
    Aug 3 06:25:52 inetd[585]: ssh/tcp: bind: Address already in use
    Aug 3 06:35:52 inetd[585]: ssh/tcp: bind: Address already in use

    On my second attempt here, everything seemed fine until I got quota's to working, Same as the first time. Those windows of opportunity I had with telnet my first attempt I was trying to restart services and what not to see if it helped and I got a lot of errors saying:

    ngs# ./cpanel start

    Could not find functions file, your system may be broken

    This error occurred with a lot of commands and I just don't get it. Right now I have access to the box but I'm scared to touch anything lol. I hope some one can help me..

    Thanks
     
    #1 NeutralGold, Aug 3, 2006
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2006
  2. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well right now everything seems to be fine, but I wonder why everything goes wrong after quota's are enabled. I've been browsing around and I got to thinking earlier when I was checking "top" on a successful login to telnet when I was having problems that perl was using up crap loads of cpu, I'm currently using 5.8.5, could quota's and that version of perl be breaking my system?
     
  3. polargom

    polargom Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    try this one.

    I'm using 5.5 release. this is my manual.

    Step 1. install FreeBSD 5.5

    Partition
    location size(cpanel recommended)
    / 1GB(same)
    swap mem*2(same)
    /var 3GB(1500MB0
    /tmp 512MB(same)
    /usr 10GB(8192MB)
    /home fill
    (Do not set up /boot with 35MB.)

    SSH enable
    Developer's option without X-window.


    Step 2. Kernel changing.

    #cd /usr/src/sys/i386/conf
    #cp GENERIC MINE
    #ee MINE(vi, pico. as you want)
    options QUOTA # add this line
    (Do not remove 'options COMPAT_FREEBSD4')
    #config MINE
    #cd ../compile/MINE
    #make cleandepend
    #make depend
    #make
    #make install

    #ee /etc/rc.conf
    # add
    enable_quotas="YES"
    check_quotas="NO" #too much time to boot.
    compat4x_enable="YES"

    #ee /etc/fstab
    (change option of home directory; rw -> rw,userquota,groupquota)
    rw,userquota,groupquota

    #quotacheck /home

    #init 6


    step 3. Cpanel install

    #cd /usr/ports/ftp/wget
    #make install clean

    #cd /root
    #mkdir cpanel
    #cd cpanel
    #wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    #sh latest

    #ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libm.so.2 /usr/lib/libm.so.2
    #ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libc_r.so.4 /usr/lib/libc_r.so.4
    #ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libc.so.4 /usr/lib/libc.so.4

    #cd /etc/namedb
    #sh make-localhost
    #cp ./master/*.rev ./
    #ee named.conf
    // If named is being used only as a local resolver, this is a safe default.
    // For named to be accessible to the network, comment this option, specify
    // the proper IP address, or delete this option.
    listen-on { 127.0.0.1; };
    ->
    // If named is being used only as a local resolver, this is a safe default.
    // For named to be accessible to the network, comment this option, specify
    // the proper IP address, or delete this option.
    // listen-on { 127.0.0.1; };

    #cd /script
    #./upcp


    done. :)
     
  4. NeutralGold

    NeutralGold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    k, thanks for the reply man. I looked through that and it seems I've followed the correct steps. I'm not sure what the problem is and don't know how to figure it out.. I'm coming from redhat 7.2 and that was 2 years ago so I'm pretty much starting over here.. It's definatly not like riding a bicycle if you know what I mean lol..

    Also, I've been getting these function file errors saying my system may be broken.. Is there suppose to be a functions file on FreeBSD or is that a linux only type deal?
     
Loading...

Share This Page