The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FreeBSD 6.1. Crashes on System Startup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hosterplus, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Everyone.

    I've installed freebsd 6.1 on a Sparc 64 platform. (Sun Fire V100).

    This is my second time installing and trying this and am still getting the same problem.

    Apache boots and displays the "No website configured at this location" but cpanel and whm don't start. Here is the boot up log.

     
  2. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Looks like all your ports are not there.

    run from root;

    /scripts/eximup

    and then a

    /scripts/upcp --force
     
  3. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    re

    Thank you very much EasyHoster!!!

    I'll give that a try.
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    I just tried to do the same thing with a new box and Freebsd 6.1

    I reinstalled it 3 times, making sure that all ports were installed and even did some pre-cpanel
    stuff like installing "Bundle::LWP" and "Bundle::CPAN" before as well as installing
    "wget" in ports as it is not alreadty there.

    I get the same errors you get, all the missing stuff including the bad $compat4/$compat5
    stuff and all the other things.

    Did this on a regular Athlon 64 3500 with 2 gigs ram.

    Looks like something is broken in Freebsd 6.1 support.
     
  5. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Still not working..

    I tried those 2 commands and updated everything but it still won't work. This time the bootup shows..

     
  6. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ... Exim Line 35

    I hope this can help. This is the results of a forced update on CPANEL...


     
  7. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    I think we need to open a trouble ticket on this. FreeBSD 6.1 install is definitly
    broken. Let me know if you want to do it or if I should.

    :(
     
  8. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    I cleaned up some of the problems. I think the compat stuff was not installed properly. I get the compat4 and compat5 and missing lib files from different apps as they trry to load so I did a :

    cd /usr/ports/misc/compat5x
    make deinstall
    make install clean

    cd /usr/ports/misc/compat4x
    make deinstall
    make install clean

    Then did a "fastboot" and after coming up I did another "upcp --force".

    this seems to have fixed SOME of the problems, but not all. I now have some control like WHM and other stuff.
     
  9. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still not working..

    Ill give this a try :) I'll let you know what happens shortly. I've put in a ticket but I can't get my support ID for some reason from the file or obviously WHM. If you have your support ID please also submit a ticket, mine may take a while to be approved by billing
     
    #9 hosterplus, Mar 28, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2007
  10. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Everyone,

    I was able to get compat5 to update but not 4, it said it wasn't valid or was no longer supported. I forced the upcp again but got the same results, it seems that its commiting suicide on eximstats line 35.

    If anyone has any suggestions or advice on how I can fix this or where I can look I'd greatly appreciate it

    Thanks Alot,

    Sean
     
  11. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, Im not running the 6.x tree. If you can now access whm, see if the eximstats table is created in phpadmin. If not, you may have to create te tables by hand and then try /scripts/eximup --force. I had to do this on a 5.3 server one time.
     
  12. hosterplus

    hosterplus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to bypass this check or disable the stats until later on? I can't access WHM, cpanel or anything of that sort.

    Thanks Alot,

    Sean
     
Loading...

Share This Page