The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FreeBSD 6.2 partionning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zone-vip, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. zone-vip

    zone-vip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Franconville, Val-d'Oise, France
    Hi everybody,

    I want some help about partionning for cPanel with FreeBSD 6.2 and a big HDD (750GB) because I find a lot of different informations.

    Hosting company :
    / 3G
    /home grow to fill disk (746GB)
    swap 512MB

    cPanel in my case :
    /boot 35 Megabytes (MB) -> it's not recommanded for freebsd no ?
    /usr 8192+76800 MB
    /var 2500+76800 MB
    /tmp 512+76800 MB
    / 2048 MB
    /home grow to fill disk (505GB)
    swap 2GB

    Some website recommand to do /usr grow to fill disk....

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    Best Regards.
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    If you got a really big disk I prefer:

    / 5gig
    /swap 2gig (bigger if you have alot of ram)
    /tmp 2gig (you rarely use much but its nice to have)
    /var 10gig
    /usr 10gig
    /home all the rest of the drive

    Of course you should have a second drive for backups and thats a /backup mount
    point itself. Don't let /var and /usr be part of the / mount point, its really nice to
    be able to do things that do not traverse the other mount points and things like
    /usr can have a really complex tree structure and slow you down when you really
    just want to search your / and related folders.
     
    #2 nyjimbo, Dec 13, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007
  3. zone-vip

    zone-vip Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Franconville, Val-d'Oise, France
    Ok thanks for you help :)

    On cPanel configuration for :
    Default Home Directory and Home Directory Prefix I configure what ?

    Default Home Directory : /home ?
    Home Directory Prefix : nothing ?

    Thanks.

    Another question about quota, I enable it just on /home slice ?

    Regards.
     

Share This Page