The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FreeBSD updating source tree and port colleciton

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackie46, Apr 18, 2006.

  1. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does cpanel handle the update of the source tree and port collection or do i need to set this up using CVS on a Freebsd server?
     
  2. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    You'll need to do this.

    I'm testing the affects right now, going from 4.8 to 5.4 while cPanel is installed. We have a few machines still running 4.8 that really should be moved to the 5.x releases.

    I’ve done an update from 5.3 to 5.4 and back on, all was swell afterwards.

    cPanel does have an update ports feature when running upcp, I would personally do it yourself also.
     
  3. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats what i was wondering about. So upcp is actually updating ports using CVS? I dont see many updates for ports happening during upcp.
     
  4. astridas

    astridas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel likes to botch the ports tree a lot. I tend to upgrade my ports manually with portsnap. As for the source tree, I don't believe cpanel touches that in any way. If you use portsnap to update your ports tree make sure you disable the upcp cron. Even if you tell cPanel to leave your ports tree alone, it stills overwrites files and you will end up extracting the entire ports collection every time. Tho disabling the upcp cron isn't a viable option if doing cPanel automatic updates, which I would never recommend.
     
  5. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    You can also update the index yourself and install any port from WHM

    # cd /usr/ports
    # make fetchindex
     
  6. IPSecureNetwork

    IPSecureNetwork Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    freebsd

    cpanel is full compatible whit freebsd for install ports
    WHM in the software section you have one link named ports
    you can search around all the ports tree and install it over whm
     
Loading...

Share This Page