The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fresh CentOS 6.0 install, Cpanel installedm now no login screen

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MrUmunhum, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. MrUmunhum

    MrUmunhum Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #1 MrUmunhum, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
  2. NixTree

    NixTree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    To which run level the server is booting into?

    Thank you.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,452
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You don't install any desktops, minimal install only.
     
  4. MrUmunhum

    MrUmunhum Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    init 5 in /etc/inittab.
     
  5. MrUmunhum

    MrUmunhum Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are you saying I can't run a desktop and Cpanel?? That is a big limitation. How do you test on the same machine??
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,452
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That is correct.

    What are you testing?
     
  7. MrUmunhum

    MrUmunhum Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am attempting to complete the install and test Cpanel. I still want to be able to use the computer normally with a deaktop ( Gnome ).
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,452
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You won't be able to from anything but a command line.
     
  9. PenguinInternet

    PenguinInternet Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I quite agree. You can run anything from the command line. It is not normal practice to install a desktop on a hosting server at all - you just use the command line and the cPanel web interface. A desktop will also add unnecessary load to your server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page