The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fresh install with Centos, keeps recompiling on reboot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by outofoptions, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tried it twice. Even reformatted for the second install. When the box reboots, cpanel starts compiling something. Something in src 3rdparty. Happens so quick I can't scroll lock fast enough. Not only does this make for a very long boot, I have no idea what might be getting over written if I try and use this install. Seems like something in the install script isn't clearing a flag. Install seems to go ok. /scripts/upcp seems to go ok but does say something about not finding something like bind-lib.

    Cent OS. Barebones install and then cpanel.
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    My guess is that its failing to compile rrdtool since the check runs when cpanellogd starts up. We will investigate moving it later in the startup process so the failure does not result in the long start up time. In the mean time please open a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ so we can investigate why it is failing.
     
  3. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think that is one of the last things I see before it starts scrolling, so you are probably right. Thing is, I've watched it and don't remember it ending in an error. I filed a ticket earlier. It was considered one of the 'courtesy' tickets because I didn't go through my reseller. Didn't figure it they would be much help. More like a glitch that needs to be looked at in the scripts? There is no valid license on this box. I'm building it at home for another location and I've used my ip up in the past. ;)
     
  4. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    One other small install note

    Named is failing because it is trying to write its pid in /var/run where it has no permission instead of /var/run/named. I fixed that in /etc/named.conf though.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If post the ticket #, I will be happy to take a look at this.

    Thanks
     
  6. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ticket number

    351729 I also filed a bug report since this is a new install. You may want to talk to the 'powers that be'. If I was doing an install as test as a prospective customer, I may have moved on by this time. You need a more transparent contact for this type of problem for that 'potential' customer.


    Thanks
     
    #6 outofoptions, Dec 20, 2008
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The problem was traced to having both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of some libraries/applications installed. The default installation scripts for 3 applications are attempting to link to the wrong libraries, hence failing to install. Thus each time cpanellogd is started, the applications are recompiled.

    We are currently examining the installation scripts for the 3 applications impacted to resolve this.
     
  8. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the update.


    I'll do a fresh install when you get it worked out as a test. I appreciate the update.
     
  9. outofoptions

    outofoptions Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Local copy fixed

    Well, I did a reboot last night and it went as expected. I really planned on doing a reinstall. Is it safe to do that yet or is it just my local copy is fixed? Thanks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page