The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

From Plesk to cPanel, but missing a 2nd server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by *Salvo*, Mar 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. *Salvo*

    *Salvo* Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    First off all my apologies for my bad english.
    I've already had a talk with a person of the assistance team, about a migration from Plesk to cPanel, due the misunderstable architecture of the plesk panel, and the more clear and friendly cPanel (that I've been using for a long time til I've got a dedi server for my stuffs).
    Unfortunately the problem is that I have only a server, and in order to make the data's transfer, the technical support explained me (but it's so logical) that they need a second web-server/space/vps, where to park the plesk and website's datas, clean the main server and format it, migration as last step.
    Unfortunately I wasn't clear with the one who explained me it, and til the last ticket message I was so glad....ok, that's it.
    I'm going to ask you all, if you've already experienced such a similar experience, and how can I do, if I do not have another dedi to get for the time to manage the transfer.
    Any alternative?

    Thank you all for your answer
     
  2. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's actually easy! No, that does not require a second server.

    If I understand you correctly, you want to reload your existing Plesk server with Cpanel without losing any data off your server?

    It sounds to me that the person you spoke with only knows how to use the account migration tools in WHM only and not how to do that from the system level or from the same server as the Cpanel installation but they are wrong about you needing a second server. Though you can save yourself a few extra steps having a second server, it's not required by any means and you can do the conversion easy enough without it.
     
  3. *Salvo*

    *Salvo* Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you, Spiral for your fast response.
    Yes, I do not have a second space (server/vps/else): all I have is a dedi server with 3 websites, one in production, other just to joke, managed via Plesk.
    Nothing else. I assume, due the different paths and DB way to get the names, the unique stuffs to do, after a migration is complete the things checking all, but the fact that I need an empty space (let call "space" a "slave" server), it discouraged me, even if I was ready to buy the license. I hope my stuffs grow up, and I'm really unable to give a sense to Plesk, after I've used cPanel for a lot of years.

    So, do you think it should be possible BTW? I do not care if the downtime goes for 2 hours or a day. The main thing is that, after all, I'm more assisted from the billion of options that cPanel offers.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Outage time? Not really all that much ....

    For only 3 sites, I would estimate roughly about an hour or two for the initial downtime making the conversion and installing Cpanel and then after that a few brief outages not lasting more than 10 minutes or so each.

    Since you are using the same server, you can keep the same IPs for your sites so that will minimize the downtime significantly.
     
  5. *Salvo*

    *Salvo* Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you Spiral for your response. But from a chat I had (and I'm having now) with one of the sales deptment, they confirmed that they do not provide installations/migrations in servers with other admin interfaces already existing.
    Do you have such a script or else? As they're confirming what I've stated in the 1st post. :)
     
  6. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Migrating and transferring accounts from third-party control panels to cPanel/WHM

    The idea suggested by Spiral is wholly and unequivocally incorrect and is not a supported method for migrations and transferring accounts from a different control panel to cPanel/WHM. Attempting to install cPanel/WHM in an environment that has or had a different control panel will exponentially increase the risk of severe configuration conflicts, OS and library installation issues, and is explicitly not supported; any problems that arise are due to one's own risk and cannot be safely and reliably repaired.

    Regarding a second server, if cost is a concern, I would consider trying a virtual private server (VPS) as this type of hosting service is often more affordable, especially if it's just needed temporarily while the original server is formatted and reloaded with a clean minimal OS install to allow for installation of cPanel and WHM. For potential service providers I recommend the following forums area: Services from cPanel Partners - cPanel Forums

    For reference of proper installation methods and procedures please refer to our official documentation: cPanel Installation Guide

    Please be aware that to ensure minimal difficulty and ease of system administration that the only time cPanel/WHM should be installed is when there is a clean install of a supported OS without having had any other control panel installed previously. It is also important to ensure that the new system is provisioned using a minimal selection of software packages, disabling all extraneous software package groups such as "desktop environments" like Gnome or KDE (per our documentation: Quick Start Installation Guide - Installing Your Operating System); any and all services and software packages needed by cPanel/WHM will be installed automatically by the cPanel/WHM Installer.

    Please note that we offer free migration assistance from third-party control panels when switching to cPanel/WHM. For full details and information please refer to the following page on our web site: cPanel Migration Services - cPanel Inc.

    If you have a minimal install of a supported OS and it is readily accessible we can also assist with the installation of cPanel/WHM; please note, however, that configuration customization after install, such as customizing options, settings, and preferences, would need to be performed by your Systems Administration team, but we are more than happy to answer any questions that you may have along the way.

    For additional reference, please also see our official System Requirements for cPanel/WHM: System Requirements - cPanel Inc.
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Without a clean, minimal OS install there is no script that will be able to offer a safe and reliable method for properly migrating accounts between a third-party control panel to cPanel/WHM. Not using a fresh OS install is an extreme risk and is not recommended and not supported under any circumstances.
     
  8. *Salvo*

    *Salvo* Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you, Admin
    Documentation apart (I've already read *all* about it, tha's why Ive asked if there was any chance, although I do not have an extra space to temporari transfer the datas), if I provide to the installation team a clean VPS space, and credentials, do you plan for:
    • moving temporary plesk to the temp. VPS
    • format and install the OS (example a centOS)
    • Install cPanel on the master server
    • Move files from VPS to the cPanel newly installed on the main real server?
    Just let me know.


    Regards
     
  9. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CpanelDon, you absolutely do not know what you are talking about!

    1. I never said not to clean out and reload the operating system

    YOU MADE A AN ASSUMPTION AND A WRONG ONE AT THAT!

    2. The script you mentioned not existing --- I wrote it 5 years ago!

    Yes it is most certainly very possible to convert a Plesk system into a Cpanel system without losing any data and without any problems or complications and I have done this precise conversion thousands upon thousands of times with absolutely no trouble whatsoever.

    You assumed that I was talking about keeping the server system in place and installing Cpanel on top of Plesk --- YOU WERE WRONG!

    I do believe you owe me a pretty good apology per that statement!

    Your comments were entirely based on broad assumptions and entirely wrong and before you make the mistake of putting your foot in your mouth again like you just did a few moments ago, I strong suggest you try a little harder to stick to what is actually being discussed before rushing to make broad statements that have nothing to do with the subject matter being discussed whatsoever.

    To clear a few points and for your information ....

    Yes, indeed it is very possible to reload a server as Cpanel and do so without losing any data off the server or requiring a second server or leaving any part of the original operating system, server application, or Plesk components behind .... Totally and Completely 100% cleanly too!

    No second server needed either ....

    And yes, everything I told this server is 100% absolutely correct!

    Confused? Apparently!

    Now with that said ---

    While CpanelDon made a huge mistake in assuming that I was talking about loading Cpanel on top of an existing Plesk server and yes he most certainly was very wrong in that assumption, the point he was trying to make in regard to that incorrect assumption is something that I absolutely agree with wholeheartedly.

    I would never recommend that anyone try to install a new control panel on top of any other and it would be a terrible idea to do so!

    However, that is NOT what I am talking about here!

    I have a program in my possession that will transform all data from Plesk accounts into standard readable cpmove files and then archive those to a dynamically remapped partition that is subsequently frozen and then the rest of the drive is re-partitioned new and a new CentOS operating system image is deployed along with an embedded security hardened Cpanel image and then the held partition is re-opened and the cpmove files imported into the new Cpanel system and and the accounts allocated their original IP addresses and the holding partition is then remapped into the rest of the server and you end up with a fully functional clean Cpanel server from a Plesk server without any transitional holding server in between .... all completely automated.

    So back to what I was saying before ----

    Yes, this can be done!

    No, you do not need a second server!
     
  10. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Of course the "sales department" you spoke to doesn't do that! :D

    As far as I am aware, I'm really the only one who does that anywhere!

    The traditional way of doing this is to setup a new server with Cpanel and then migrate your Plesk accounts over to the new server and that is what most people and server technicians out there are most accustomed to doing things this way but it is not the only way.

    The second method involves essentially the same thing but cloning your server to a new one and then reloading your original server with Cpanel and then migrating the cloned server back to the original server. While this method works, it's a hell of a lot of extra unnecessary work.

    The third method I developed some time again involves converting and sealing and protecting the data while reloading all the software clean from within the server itself.

    Yes! Sure do! And I'd be glad to give you a hand with all that too!
     
  11. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    We do not move the Plesk installation (i.e., Plesk would remain on the original server until you decide to format and reload a clean OS install). What migration assistance does include, however, is the migration or transfer of accounts to cPanel/WHM.

    For questions about the process please submit a support request so that one of our Migrations Specialists can directly assist.

    Reference: cPanel Migration Services - cPanel Inc. (Click How to Start the Process)
     
  12. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page