The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frontpage admin "unknown server type"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jandafields, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Frontpage works fine for editing websites on the server, but when I go to Tools -> Server -> Administration within Frontpage, I then enter the user/pass and get the following error:

    Server Error: Unknown web server type " ". On Windows platforms, Microsoft Internet Information Server is supported. On UNIX platforms, Apache with the Microsoft FrontPage patch is supported.

    I use Centos 3.3
    CPanel 10.0.0.R7
    Frontpage 2002

    Please help.
    Thanks.
     
  2. mike25

    mike25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC, USA
    Can anyone answer this? I see a few threads with this same problem and no one has offered a solution.
     
  3. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    Hello,

    Is it a server wide issue, or problem with only one domain?

    Let me know the status.
     
  4. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Server-wide. It has never worked for any domain.
     
  5. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    Hello,

    Try the scripts

    /scripts/setupfp5
    /scripts/initfpsuexec

    Let me know the status.
     
  6. mike25

    mike25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC, USA
    I have ran both scripts. setupfp5 gave me this error :

    /usr/local/apache/htdocs/public_html does not exist or is not a directory!

    not sure if that will cause any major problems or not. I will have to check with my customer and see if the problem still exsists.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  7. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    Hello Mike,

    Is there any other apache folder (like apache2) in /usr/local/ directory?
    If yes move the directory to apache2.off and run the scripts again.
    It should solve your issue ;)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    mv /usr/local/apache2 /usr/local/apache2.off
    /scripts/setupfp5
    /scripts/initfpsuexec
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Let me know the status?.
     
    #7 bijo, Jun 17, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2005
  8. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Those 2 commands run successfully, but I still get the same error:

    Server Error: Unknown web server type " ". On Windows platforms, Microsoft Internet Information Server is supported. On UNIX platforms, Apache with the Microsoft FrontPage patch is supported.
     
  9. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
  10. mike25

    mike25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Raleigh NC, USA
    No, I only have one apache directory, just no public_html at the end of the tree.

    If I attempt to reinstall the RPM I get a failed dependancy error. I am going to run a upcp and see if that will help any, I am running a slightly older release build
     
  11. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    That should help.

    -----
    Aby :)
     
  12. aress

    aress Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have tried reinstalling frontpage and all other scripts but am still getting error while accessing the administration section via frontpage :

    Server Error: Unknown web server type " ". On Windows platforms, Microsoft Internet Information Server is supported. On UNIX platforms, Apache with the Microsoft FrontPage patch is supported.

    Has anyone found a solution yet.

    Thanks
     
  13. sudheesh

    sudheesh Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not working

    I have done all the above stuffs.




    But it seems to be not working.:)

    It's really shame
     
  14. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is an extremely old post you replied to. FrontPage and Extensions have been discontinued and no longer supported by Microsoft, so you are probably better moving on to supported editors using FTP or WebDav
     
Loading...

Share This Page