The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frontpage and new httpd.conf permissions problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Marty, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    On all servers, Frontpage will not work due to the permissions on the httpd.conf file. I have not taken these servers up to edge and back to stable. All are running R55 except two that I upgraded to E80 to see if that would resolve the issue. It did not. Frontpage extensions do not work on any of these servers due to not being able to access httpd.conf. You cannot install FP extension or publish sites. I haven't checked, but I would guess this is affecting the addition of subdomains and addon domains as well. Each time I updated these servers, I did it from ssh using:

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/upcp

    I have submitted a ticket on this issue, but I am curious if there is a solution other than setting up a cron job to chmod the httpd.conf back to 644.

    Anybody?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    There are fixes in EDGE for the FP problems, so you might want to try that tree if you want to see them resolved.
     
  3. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Chirpy,

    If you will read my post, you will see that I said that I upgraded two servers to E80 without any resolution to the problem.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    So you did.
     
    #4 chirpy, Aug 26, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2005
  5. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    As stated in the first post, ticket has already been submitted. I am just wondering if somebody has already been where I am and knows what the solution is so that I don't have to wait on support and get my customers issues resolved as quickly as possible.

    I appreciate your help, chirpy. I am not trying to be a smart*** here, but this is an annoying problem because all I did was update to the latest release, and wham! here come the problems.
     
  6. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    by the way:

    chmod 644 /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf*

    does not fix my problem. My ticket number is 109650
     
  7. kekays

    kekays Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/bin/chmodhttpdconf
    set the permission in this file.
     
  8. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    All that will do is chmod the httpd.conf file, and I already said that changing the chmod on those files will not fix my problem.
     
  9. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I have the same problem. I tried Release, Current and Edge.

    I updated Apache and did every possible FP fix as mentioned on a few hundred other threads.
     
  10. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Here is an example error

    Attempting to install FrontPage extensions...

    Starting install, port: 80.

    Creating web http://www.domain.net.
    Chowning Content in service /.
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..Error #2001d Message: Theme path doesn't exist "copy-of-blank" not found.
    ........
    .....Error #2001d Message: Theme path doesn't exist "business_n" not found.
    Error #2001d Message: Theme path doesn't exist "business_n" not found.
    .....
    ..........
    .....Error #2001d Message: Theme path doesn't exist "virtualshades" not found.
    .....
    ..........
    ......Error #2001d Message: Theme path doesn't exist "spheres-hd" not found.
    ....
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    ..........
    .
    Install completed.
    Setting Password
    Frontpage passthough auth enabled!


    FrontPage extensions are currently: installed
     
  11. Arjoon

    Arjoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have the same problem as well.. :mad:
     
  12. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    This is different than the problem that I had. On my servers, if you tried to install fp extensions, this is what you would get:

    Attempting to install FrontPage extensions...


    FrontPage extensions are currently: not installed


    No error messages, jus that. It turns out that my problem was due to the fact that these particular servers do not run suexec. The new chmodding of httpd and other files did not take into account that some servers may be using FP extenions and not be using suexec. Nick spent about an hour with me yesterday and once he figured out the problem, he released E90 which resolved my problems.
     
  13. Arjoon

    Arjoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey guys i got it resolved! changed the permissions of httpd.conf to 644. FYI am on 10.2.0-STABLE 83. Also switched off automatic upgrade option(to stable versions) in WHM just to be on the safer side!
     
  14. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    That did not fix it for me
     
  15. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    This also did not fix it

    rm -f /home/<user>/public_html/_vti*
    rm -f /home/<user>/public_html/.htaccess
    rm -f /usr/local/frontpage/<domain>:80.cnf
    reinstall the extensions for that web
     
  16. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Someone please give some input here. This is not working whatsoever
     
  17. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Are you running the latest EDGE which has just seen more FP fixes go in? If you are and still have problems, you should be contacting cPanel about the problem.
     
  18. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    That did no fix it. I'm on EDGE

    I get this error

    Attempting to remove FrontPage extensions...

    Starting uninstall, port: 80.

    Error: There is no web named "".
    The version (unknown) of the server extensions you are trying to uninstall cannot be uninstalled with this tool. You must upgrade this virtual server to the current version, and then use owsadm.exe to uninstall.


    Removing .htaccess files....Done
    Removing old frontpage files...Done


    FrontPage extensions are currently: not installed


    reinstalling...

    Attempting to install FrontPage extensions...

    Starting install, port: 80.

    Creating web http://www.domain.net.
    Chowning Content in service /.
    Error: An access setup description is required when creating the root web.
    Setting Password
    Frontpage passthough auth enabled!


    FrontPage extensions are currently: installed
     
  19. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    [edit wrong ticket #...back in a moment...

    Sorry
     
    #19 Secret Agent, Aug 30, 2005
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2005
  20. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Latest Edge 1.0.6.0 E135 here and still got the frontpage problem :/
    It is not even giving an error message either through WHM or cpanel.
     
Loading...

Share This Page