The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frontpage Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MichaelShanks, Jan 2, 2002.

  1. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    has anyone seen this error before? its after upgrading to fp5.0

    Jan 2 13:29:23 opal Microsoft FrontPage Server Extensions: http://url.com - Error #2005d Message: The server extensions were unable to access the file \"service.lck\". Please check the file permissions. (userid 99)
    Jan 2 13:29:23 opal Microsoft FrontPage Server Extensions: (OS Error #13 Message: Permission denied) (userid 99)


    on top of that noone can publish ect, (deleting service.lck does not fix this)
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Whatsup...

    YES, indeed I have on a few boxes that I have been tinkering with. I *think* perhaps suexec was included as a REQUIREMENT with the latest FP-upgrade that is currently offered at cpanel.net....

    At least that appears to be the issue with Frontpage not being compatible with that particular fp upgrader..... you can get frontpage working with suexec with the lovely scripts (initfpsuexec, etc, within/scripts)..... but first make sure your httpd.conf is actually worthy of suexec coz if you have any dead virtual host entries that don\'t match up with active users you are going to have a hell of a time) active linux users, that is.

    Bdraco, perhaps shed some light on this if you see this thread?

    I even tried removing suexec with buildapache... it would have none of that. So now I am using my old 1.3.20 (apache version) FP-upgrades that I have stashed elsewhere since we are not quite ready to push suexec through all our linux boxes. For about a zillion reasons, most related to sheer procrastination.


    :D
     
  3. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:175b80e392][i:175b80e392]Originally posted by MichaelShanks[/i:175b80e392]
    has anyone seen this error before? its after upgrading to fp5.0

    Jan 2 13:29:23 opal Microsoft FrontPage Server Extensions: http://url.com - Error #2005d Message: The server extensions were unable to access the file \"service.lck\". Please check the file permissions. (userid 99)
    Jan 2 13:29:23 opal Microsoft FrontPage Server Extensions: (OS Error #13 Message: Permission denied) (userid 99)


    on top of that noone can publish ect, (deleting service.lck does not fix this)

    [/quote:175b80e392]

    Is this a new install ?
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Both completely new and on older machines in which I have tried the latest fp-upgrade.sea on web.cpanel.net.... result in suexec being present.
     
  5. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no its an old install, on a 6.2 system infact, I have it running on one server but not on another,
     
  6. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:b71eb1cbd8][i:b71eb1cbd8]Originally posted by feanor[/i:b71eb1cbd8]

    Whatsup...

    YES, indeed I have on a few boxes that I have been tinkering with. I *think* perhaps suexec was included as a REQUIREMENT with the latest FP-upgrade that is currently offered at cpanel.net....

    At least that appears to be the issue with Frontpage not being compatible with that particular fp upgrader..... you can get frontpage working with suexec with the lovely scripts (initfpsuexec, etc, within/scripts)..... but first make sure your httpd.conf is actually worthy of suexec coz if you have any dead virtual host entries that don\'t match up with active users you are going to have a hell of a time) active linux users, that is.

    Bdraco, perhaps shed some light on this if you see this thread?

    I even tried removing suexec with buildapache... it would have none of that. So now I am using my old 1.3.20 (apache version) FP-upgrades that I have stashed elsewhere since we are not quite ready to push suexec through all our linux boxes. For about a zillion reasons, most related to sheer procrastination.


    :D [/quote:b71eb1cbd8]


    cheers, I was thinking that it was something to do with apache, due to the error of uid 99 being nobody ect ect, suexec had crossed my mind as well but i thought this had been fixed.

    Mike
     
  7. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK I am awaiting some intervention hopefully quickly?

    Also the date server that everything hinges on is down...

    \"rdate.darkorb.net\"....
    And with past experience, the actual cpanel licenses seem to shatter without that PARTICULAR date server being available. Machines are beginning to fall apart now....

    :eek:
     
  8. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    anyone got more info on this???
     
  9. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    /scripts/initfpsuexec

    changes frontpage to work with suexec if /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec exists. If you are not using suexec, remove /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec and run /scripts/initfpsuexec to reverse the change.
     
  10. MichaelShanks

    MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    also this seems to fix it but is not 100% guarenteed

    move /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0 version5.0.bak

    backup /usr/local/apache/

    then install fp-5.0 upgrade

    then revert the old apache,

    for some reason that has fixed it twice for me, don\'t ask me why i tried this, it was a last resort on my part :O)

    Mike
     
  11. Craig

    Craig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have just had a fresh install on a 7.2 box and well.. now frontpage is refusing to work, were getting the following error when users try to connect to the server with frontpage:

    http://craig.flump.net/fp.gif

    Anyone share any light on this? Or had this problem before? :)

    Thanks

    Craig.
     
  12. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK, so is suexec instilled currently ... yea or nay?

    If not then FP is probably in suexec mode anyway, since that is default.
    If yes then there are bigger problems, or, you simply haven\'t run /scripts/initfpsuexec and/or /scripts/fpsuexec yet.
     
  13. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    OK, we removed suexec because all the issues and problems that arose

    Now FP users are getting what it seems to be this one error, i tired reinstalling, to no avail

    http://www.www-hosting.net/fperror.gif

    Suggestions?
     
  14. Craig

    Craig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its not running with suexec..

    And we have also had that problem reported alaskawoooolfie.

    again, after suggestions to fix this :)

    C.
     
  15. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do this-

    Wipe out /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec.... then touch a file in its place and chmod 00000, and chattr +i suexec.

    Grab the OLDER httpd.conf (pre-suexec) from /etc/httpd/conf so you have a copy.
    Now, wipe out /usr/local/frontpage (yes you\'ll have to rebuild the FP web configuration for each domain that requires it).....

    With those things done grab the latest FP-upgrade from layer1 and reinstall that completely, hopefully it goes smoothly.

    MAKE SURE /scripts/initsuexec & /scripts/fpsuexec & /scripts/initfpsuexe are DISABLED and not runnable or replaceable within /scripts , if you truly wish for \"suexec\" to be killed permanently on the system in question.

    Questions = ask, I will do my best.
     
  16. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Craig

    After deleting the suexec in the bin, i re-ran /scripts/initfpsuexec and that seemed to fix my users frontpage\'s problems
     
Loading...

Share This Page