The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

frontpage extensions not working. any help?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Diatone, Nov 24, 2004.

  1. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, I have a problem.. No one can publish via their frontpage. I tried all the normal fixes listed before on the forums, such as updating cpanel, fixfrontpage, chmoding the service.pwd file, etc. the output of the /usr/local/frontpage dir for their www. files are chowned to theirusername.theirusername so hopefully that is correct. here is the error that apache spits out when someone tries to publish frontpage.

    [fp-auth] [error] Cannot open /home/rdjansen/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd uid=99 gid=99 99
    [Wed Nov 24 11:21:18 2004] [error] [client 65.2.228.52] Premature end of script headers: /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/apache-fp/_vti_bin/fpexe

    any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Diatone

    Diatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no one has even viewed my topic? wow thats sad.
     
  3. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    We've experienced this problem in the past, but simply uninstalling frontpage extensions and then reinstalling them from within cpanel seemed to correct the problem. It may be worth a try.
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i did go by johnboy; re-installing after a complete removal of frontpage files ia always worth a try. BTW the username with the gid and uid as 99; is "nobody". Mayb u can dig in that direction too.
     
  5. SageBrian

    SageBrian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY/CT (US)
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    reinstalling using cpanel doesn't always work for me. Instead, I usually have to use WHM to remove/install.

    One thing I hate about doing it, using either cpanel or whm is that the web loses some of it's structure. This MS fault.

    When removing extensions, you also remove the /private/ files, the shared borders, and most importantly for a large site.... the Navigation structure. So, if someone is utilizing FrontPage's navigation feature for their buttons and links.... poof, they're gone with the reinstall.

    And the themes get screwed up somethimes also.

    Before removing extensions, try backing up all of the /. folders, like /.private, /.vtn_bin, etc. After reinstall, review what might be missing.
     
  6. bman

    bman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i thought front page extensions are a security risk
    or there ok to install ?
     
  7. heyjohnboy

    heyjohnboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    EXCELLENT recommendation. We have also found that sometimes the WHM option works, sometimes the cpanel option works, so if one doesn't do it, try a complete uninstall and then re-install with the other. Diatone, did anything ultimately work for you, or are you still experiencing the problem?
     
  8. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    you can also try generating a full home backup and moving that to the root of the /home directory, terminating the account and restoring it off that backup.
     
Loading...

Share This Page