The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frontpage extensions not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tangowebs, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. tangowebs

    tangowebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ey, I have issues installing frontpage extensions into an account.
    I try to install and uninstall, but extensions wont work.

    Any sugestions on how to make it work?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Microsoft discontinued support for FrontPage extensions on Linux servers in 2006,

    If your server is running a legacy Apache version 2.0 or lower
    you may have them if not FPextensions (any version) are no longer available for Unix systems

    you should use dav "Web_DAV" in place of FP extensions
     
  3. tangowebs

    tangowebs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So how do i activate this? Will that dev work on frontpage users as frontpage extensions did?

    Sorry for the noob question.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In your FP client
    On the Remote Web Site tab, under Remote Web server type, click WebDAV.

    Set your Front page Host to http://yourdomain.com:2077/public_html
    or
    https://yourdomain.com:2078/public_html for SSL

    Note: if WebDAV is not enabled the above will not work you will need to recompile Apache and enable DAV

    Note: If you are not the server owner then your provider must do this
     
  5. MrHits

    MrHits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We upgraded all the servers in our network to Apache 2.2 from Apache 2.0
    We have WebDav enabled in Apache on all our servers, but FrontPage 2002
    doesn't appear to support them.

    Here is a list of all of the FrontPage related updates. I don't know that
    installing any of these will add that functionality and none of them say
    they will. Does anyone have experience with this?
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/downloads/CD010225611033.aspx

    At this point I am left with suggesting to the customer that she either
    1) start looking for a host that runs apache 2.0 or earlier
    or
    2) buy an upgrade from FrontPage 2002 to FrontPage 2003
    or
    3) contact microsoft

    Are there any alternatives?
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As was pointed out by the earlier poster, Frontpage was discontinued six years ago and as of four years ago declared completely end of life and nobody should really be using Frontpage after that date.

    No more updates or patches are being released and Frontpage and it's extensions are no longer being supported. As more and more time goes by, hosting technology continues to evolve and the old Frontpage extensions still floating out there will continue to become more and more incompatible with the current technologies out there.

    The final versions of Frontpage before it's official death supported WebDAV which is a technology meant to replace Frontpage Extensions primarily due to on going bug and security related issues even back then so if you have one of the final releases of Frontpage, that would be the preferred technology to use with your own obsolete Frontpage program.

    Microsoft released other products to replace Frontpage after the program's official death four years ago and ideally everyone should have moved up to those products way back then especially given how much time has passed since Frontpage was discontinued.

    If you are dead set on still using Frontpage, the best recommendation would be to use it only to develop a standard site without Frontpage Extension support because finding servers that support Frontpage Extensions is going to be very limited, working flaky at best if at all, have serious security issues among other bugs and problems, and that situation is only going to continue to get worse forcing you to have to inevitably re-design your site without extensions anyway.

    If you are asking on behalf of a hosting client, maybe get them to read this thread and all the posts including the previous poster's comments as it cannot be stressed enough that you really should not be using Frontpage Extensions anyway. It died 4 years ago --- R.I.P.
     
  7. konrath

    konrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hello

    Your problem is with ( frontpage not installed ) ?

    try
    /scripts/fixfrontpageperm

    My problem was solved.

    Konrath
     
  8. svsanchez

    svsanchez Registered

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Guatemala
    Expression Web

    I was told by my host that since frontpage was discontinued I should move to the Microsoft replacement software: "Expression Web". I loved FrontPage because it would let me work online on my site without having to upload via FTP every time I made some changes on my site. Does Expression Web work the same?

    Thank you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page