The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frontpage extensions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SantoshS, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. SantoshS

    SantoshS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have a customer, who is facing problem with frontpage extensions. Extension has been installed for the main domain and addon domain. Frontpage forms work fine for addon domain without any issues but for the main domain it requires to reinstall the frontpage every hour for the frontpage extensions to work. WHM 11.30.5 (build 6)
    CENTOS 6.2 x86_64 standard. I have tried removing and reinstalling frontpage extensions without any luck. Can anyone suggest on this?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you monitor the cPanel error log when you install Frontpage Extenstions and let us know if you notice any specific error messages? The cPanel error log is located at:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log
    Also, when it stops working, is there any specific error message in Frontpage?

    Thank you.
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you also check the /home/username/public_html/.htaccess file on the reinstall and after it quits working (make a backup copy of the file after you reinstall it) to see the results? The main reasons I could see that it would quit working would be:

    a) something/someone is editing the .htaccess file in public_html on the user's account
    b) something/someone is changing file permissions or ownership on any of the /home/username/public_html/_ folders that FrontPage uses. The folders are _private, _vti_bin, _vti_cnf, _vti_log, _vti_pvt, and _vti_txt
     
  4. SantoshS

    SantoshS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Support,

    I even tried setting up attributes to the htaccess file but it didn't work either. Also backed up the folders after reinstalling frontpage and then compared folders after frontpage extension got corrupted again. Could not find any difference in the folders/files. Interestingly both the addon domains under it works fine without any issues. Only the main domain frontpage extensions get corrupted and require reinstall every 1 hour.

    Regards,
    Santosh
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a ticket for us to check into this further. You can open one using WHM > Support Center > Contact cPanel or using the link in my signature.
     
Loading...

Share This Page