The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FrontPage Issue /scripts/fixfrontpageperm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pphillips, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. pphillips

    pphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    After using the WHM Copy Accounts from a remote server feature, frontpage users now get an error message while trying to publish saying to contact the ISP to make sure FrontPage is installed. I noticed 2 scripts in the /scripts directory callled updatefrontpage and fixfrontpageperm. Thought it was odd a search for fixfrontpageperm on these forums brought nothing up, but I ran it anyway. Below is the output of /scripts/fixfrontpageperm:

    root@bethany [/]# /scripts/fixfrontpageperm
    Setting default permissions....Done
    initfpsuexec: using apache 1.x support
    Processing web /home/user1 (/)
    Invalid Username.
    Processing web /home/user2 (/)
    Invalid Username.
    Processing web /home/user3 (/)
    Invalid Username.
    Processing web /home/user4 (/)
    Invalid Username.
    Processing web /home/user5 (/)

    Any Ideas?
     
  2. mistress sally

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    are we all having prob's publishing

    i've tried to send pages to c panal to get my site up an i missing somthing
     
  3. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    seems like the domain creation/move was not a success. the usernames seems to be invalid !
     
  4. pphillips

    pphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    but FTP works fine and all the users web files are there and email addresses and and... plus it said success in the copy process. man this sucks. I tried reinstalling frontpage extensions for the user, no luck, then I tried removing front page, then installing front page no luck... but now it lets me edit a page just not any of the navigation stuff. that all disappeared.
     
  5. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    check httpd.conf and see if the entry for the domain in concern has the User and Group Directive set properly.

    else Im me at any of the address on my signature.
     
  6. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Does inyone know how to correct the error?

    "Processing web /home/user1 (/)
    Invalid Username."

    I have an account that has this problem and I think it stems from wherever this error is being returned from.
     
  7. Cozminsky

    Cozminsky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think I've figured out the problem. The user has used frontpage ftp to upload the site and it has gone into their root directory, with all the _vti, etc. directories. I removed them and the problem went away.
     
Loading...

Share This Page