The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FrontPage problem. Users getting httpd.conf error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sneader, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This morning all my FrontPage customers were getting a popup error:

    The server extensions were unable to access the file "httpd.conf". Please check the file permissions.

    Didn't find anything here on the forums, so I must have botched something myself. Anyway, doing some research sort of indicated that httpd.conf should have 644 permissions... read & write for root, and read only for Group and Nobody. Mine was 600, read & write for root, but no read access for anybody else. I changed it to 644 and instantly FrontPage started working again.

    Hope this helps someone... or if changing permissions was bad, let me know that too.

    - Scott
     
  2. silversurfer

    silversurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ya somehow Cpanel decided 600 for httpd.conf is the way to go, which is great. But perhaps they should do more extensive testing especially when so much of their code is dependent on it. this is just one of the many things it broke. If you change it to 644, remember to disable auto-updates or tommorrow it will change back to 600.
     
  3. myusername

    myusername Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chown -R us.*yourbase*
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Is this fixed in any other builds?
     
  4. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm getting this in 10.8 R27
     
  5. neilogden

    neilogden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    .conf error

    I am currently getting an error simillar to this - it's saying it can't access the file www.yourdomain.com.conf (where yourdomain.com is replaced y the domain being published to).

    This is only happening on new accounts created in the last week or so. Any ideas?

    Neil Ogden
    Associate Internet Promotions
     
Loading...

Share This Page