The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FrontPage + SuExec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Curious Too, Jan 28, 2002.

  1. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there anyone on this forum who has FrontPage working successfully with SuExec? If so, can you tell me how you fixed the problem of users not being able to publish their websites?

    If not, can someone give me a checkoff list for uninstalling SuExec?

    Thanks
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:c1056af72c][i:c1056af72c]Originally posted by Curious Too[/i:c1056af72c]
    Is there anyone on this forum who has FrontPage working successfully with SuExec? If so, can you tell me how you fixed the problem of users not being able to publish their websites?

    If not, can someone give me a checkoff list for uninstalling SuExec?

    Thanks [/quote:c1056af72c]

    Did you run /scripts/initfpsuexec after installing suexec ?
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    i know i ran this and users were still not able to publish
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:15f9cdd8ba][i:15f9cdd8ba]Originally posted by AlaskanWolf[/i:15f9cdd8ba]
    i know i ran this and users were still not able to publish [/quote:15f9cdd8ba]

    The question was directed at \'Curious Too\' ...
     
  5. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:62540f389b]
    Did you run /scripts/initfpsuexec after installing suexec ?
    [/quote:62540f389b]

    This was a fresh install on a brand new server, running Redhat 7.2. Yes, I ran /scripts/initfpsuexec and the problem still occurs. The user is prompted repeatedly for a password when trying to publish.
     
  6. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    ls -l /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/apache-fp/_vti_bin/fpexe

    Run the following command and paste the results back here please..
     
  7. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Also, please verify the md5sum on initfpsuexec

    [~]# md5sum /scripts/initfpsuexec
    c682d5e50ed175f282a55a2dcc971f7e /scripts/initfpsuexec
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    # md5sum /scripts/initfpsuexec
    dd55c75483f90a0c529e76af37d42620 /scripts/initfpsuexec


    is should also be ok as well..

    you can always resync scripts with

    rsync -av rsync://rsync.cpanel.net/scripts /scripts
     
  9. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:811f8a2cf0]
    Run the following command and paste the results back here please..
    [/quote:811f8a2cf0]


    -rwxr-xr-x 1 root wheel 21636 Dec 29 19:08 /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/apache-fp/_vti_bin/fpexe*


    [quote:811f8a2cf0]
    Also, please verify the md5sum on initfpsuexec
    [/quote:811f8a2cf0]

    dd55c75483f90a0c529e76af37d42620 /scripts/initfpsuexec
     
  10. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    What do you get an error in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log or /usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log

    while trying to use frontpage
     
  11. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:46faf2acf3]
    What do you get an error in /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log while trying to use FrontPage
    [/quote:46faf2acf3]
    user max: authentication failure for \"/_vti_bin/_vti_aut/author.exe\": password mismatch
    [quote:46faf2acf3]
    What do you get in /usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log when trying to use FrontPage
    [/quote:46faf2acf3]
    no suexec_log has been created, but I see these errors in the error log:

    Warning: User directive in <VirtualHost> requires SUEXEC wrapper.
    Warning: Group directive in <VirtualHost> requires SUEXEC wrapper.

    The suexec binary is in /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec but apparently is not starting when Apache is restarted?
     
  12. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    ls -l /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec
     
  13. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [quote:de20cf9653]
    ls -l /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec
    [/quote:de20cf9653]
    -rwx--x--x 1 root root 11488 Dec 27 17:59 /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec*
     
  14. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:84e443ba22][i:84e443ba22]Originally posted by Curious Too[/i:84e443ba22]
    [quote:84e443ba22]
    ls -l /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec
    [/quote:84e443ba22]
    -rwx--x--x 1 root root 11488 Dec 27 17:59 /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec* [/quote:84e443ba22]

    711 isn\'t going to cut it for suexec. You need to make it 4755

    chmod 4755 /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec


    ..retstart apache...

    chmod 4755
     
  15. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That worked -- FP published like a charm. The server was delivered at the end of December with CPanel/Suexec preinstalled. You should probably notify distributors to make sure the permissions on the suexec binary are correct. Thanks for your help.
     
  16. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    Added an autochmod in the initfpsuexec script ..
     
Loading...

Share This Page