The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Access

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spartan123, Aug 5, 2007.

  1. Spartan123

    Spartan123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I added a new user, gave him a password. I tried to login using Internet Explorer and an FTP program, nothing works.

    What would be the following using winscp:

    Host Name = ?

    User name = one I created

    Password = one I created

    I am brand new to this, any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36

    For winscp, you will need the latest version which now supports non secure, plain ol' ftp and use ftp mode, not sftp or scp.

    Host name would be any domain that resolves to your server. The account in question is chosen from the user name. hostname = domain.com or ip address
     
  3. Spartan123

    Spartan123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the latest version, tried to login, still doesn't work..:(
     
  4. Spartan123

    Spartan123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Connection failed.

    I really appreciate your help :)
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    What connection error do you get? cant find server, invalid user , whats the trouble
     
  6. olga7777

    olga7777 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    "(11004-100)The requested name is valid and was found in the database, but it does not have the correct associated data being resolved for. "

    This is the error I'm getting every time I tried to log in into the account using the instructions and I cannot find what exactly I'm doing wrong.

    Could it have something to do with the place the file has being created? I used the default location for the account
     
  7. Spartan123

    Spartan123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried 4 different FTP Programs and nothing works. I followed the instructions to the letter and still I cannot connect. This is really frustrating for me, where can I get some tech support for this?
     
  8. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would suggest asking your service provider to check it out first.
     
Loading...

Share This Page