The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP account

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HappyBandit76, May 27, 2011.

  1. HappyBandit76

    HappyBandit76 Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi I am fairly new to cpanel but what I am wanting to do is setup an ftp account which I have successfully done but when I try to test the login by typing in the account in my web browser eg

    ftp://account@hostname.com.au

    I get prompted for a username and password. When I attempt to enter the username and password for the account I just setup it doesnt work. However if I put in my main account and password (special account) then it lets me in. Obviously though I dont want the public to know my username and password as its the same as my cpanel access password. How do I go about this. I would have thought that the username and password prompted for would be from the account I just setup???

    Cheers
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. HappyBandit76

    HappyBandit76 Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep already tested it on there....the problem is not the testing per se it's having the same password for the account. I dont understand why when you setup and ftp account it asks you to create a password (which I did and different to my main password) and yet when you go to put the ftp account in the browser to access it it prompts you for the main password not the password for the account I just created!!!???
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you entering username@domain.com for the username for the FTP user? Any created FTP user who isn't the main cPanel account must have @domain.com after the username. Please replace domain.com with the domain name of the account.
     
  5. HappyBandit76

    HappyBandit76 Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok here is a screenshot of my ftp accounts so this might help you a bit!

    ftpsite.jpg
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The username that you would enter when it prompts for a username would be song@mediasensations.com.au and then the password for that created FTP account. Again, I would suggest testing this in FileZilla for the username and password rather than a browser. FTP is really intended to be used in FTP clients rather than being targetted toward browser-based activity.
     
  7. seventhson

    seventhson Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What ftp client software are you using? Try with Total Commander.
     
  8. seemovies

    seemovies Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you very much.
     
Loading...

Share This Page