The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP Accounts/File users

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Machiavelli, Jul 5, 2005.

1. Machiavelli

Machiavelli Member

Alright, I am fairly new to working with file users/permissions. I talked to a pal of mine who owns a server, and he explained some things to me, but he doesn't know how it all works in a Cpanel controlled environment. What I am trying to do is create FTP users that have their own directory, but are not able to read the files in my main public_html folder, but I'm not sure how to change their permissions. I don't want the people that I have given directories to, to be able to view my own files in the public_html and steal my Database connection info, or any of my own sensitive files. So how can I change the permissions for these FTP users, so that they cannot even read any directory but their own? Thanks in advance for the help.

2. dalem

dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    FTP Account Maintenance

Add FTP Account and place the folder name you want them to have access to

3. Machiavelli

Machiavelli Member

You're a genius. I think a trained ape could figure that out. My point is, that even when I have restricted them to their own folder, they can still use PHP file functions to read my top level files. -_-

4. chirpy

chirpy Well-Known Member

Not much at all that you can do about that as all scripts running under the same cPanel account will run under the same unix username.

5. Machiavelli

Machiavelli Member

Are you sure about that?